Yate and Pickup Bank, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Yate and Pickup Banks, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Yate and Pickup Bank, Lancashire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Blackburn PLU
Registration District Blackburn
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

YATE, with Pick-up-Bank, a township, in the parochial chapelry of Church, parish of Whalley, union, and Higher division of the hundred, of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 4 miles (S. E.) from Blackburn. This is a small township, lying east of the high road from Blackburn to Bury, and chiefly inhabited by weavers. The house called Hoddlesden Hall, a large plain venerable building, was probably the residence of the Hoddlestons of former ages. Yate and Pickup Bank was created an extra-parochial place, and exempt from parish or civil jurisdiction. To find information about ancestry from this place, be certain to search in the registers of surrounding parishes and chapelries.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.

Poor Law Unions

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-716.Accessed 23 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,135 times.