Yazor, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Yazor, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Yazor St John the Baptist Herefordshire.
|Poor Law Union||Weobley PLU|
|Parish registers: 1621|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
YAZOR (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Weobley, hundred of Grimsworth, county of Hereford, 4½ miles (S.) from Weobley. It comprises over 2047acres. The surface is undulated, and in the hills are quarries of limestone, and of freestone for building. 
The redundant Anglican church of St Mary the Virgin Yazor ( an Ancient Parish) is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust and was built to replace the older church of St John the Baptist. St Mary the Virgin Yaxor Wikipedia
See the Churches Conservation trust information about the church here
The remains of the Old Church of St John the Baptist have been designated as a grade II listed building British listed Building
The redundant church of St Mary Yazor have been designated as a grade II listed building British listed Building
See also Yazor Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this area was part of Weobley registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
St. Owens Street
Phone 01432 260565
Fax 01432 261720
Original parish records are held at the Herefordshire Record Office under reference AC/66 1-8 covering 1620-1984 and in two other series T20 and AF93
The Genealogical Society of Utah link covers partial microfilming of the records other records are found at
Tel: 01432 260750
Fax: 01432 260066
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Yazor
Bishop's transcripts are held 1660-1845 with missing Years.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288817.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-716. Accessed and adapted 23 July, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 17:59.
- This page has been accessed 1,450 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News