Yell County, ArkansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Arkansas
Yell
Guide to Yell County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Yell County, Arkansas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Arkansas | |||||||||
![]() Location of Arkansas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 5, 1840 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Danville | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Address | Yell County Courthouse PO Box 219; Danville, AR 72833-0219 Phone: 501.495.2630 | ||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Yell County Courthouse
PO Box 219;
Danville, AR 72833-0219
Phone: 501.495.2630
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate,
land, and court records from 1865[1]
History
Parent County
- 1840--Yell County was created 5 December 1840 from Pope and Scott Counties. County seat: Danville [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Yell County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Yell County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
Maps
Military
Civil War
- Men from this county served in the 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)1 and the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)2.
1 Allen, Desmond Walls. First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles (Desmond Walls Allen: Conway AR, 1988) p. 2.
2 Allen, Desmond Walls. The Third Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union) (Arkansas Research: Conway, Arkansas,1987).
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yell County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Yell County, Arkansas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.
Taxation
Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.
Marriage
- 1831, 1841-1925 - Yell County Marriage Books A-J Index 1831, 1841-1925 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1841-1849, 1865-1959 - Yell County Marriage Books A-O Index 1841-1849, 1865-1959 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- Yell County Marriages
Death
- Yell County, Arkansas Obituary Collection Free From GenealogyBuff.com. From Various Funeral Homes in the Dardanelle, Danville, Ola, Belleville, and Plainview areas.
Societies and Libraries
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Yell County, Arkansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 71.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
| This Arkansas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 21:16.
- This page has been accessed 1,912 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

