Yemen GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Middle East Yemen
Guide to Yemen ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Learn how to get started with your Yemen research.
Yemen is located in the Middle East, bordering the Arabian Sea, Gulf of Aden, and Red Sea, between Oman and Saudi Arabia.
North Yemen became independent of the Ottoman Empire in 1918. The British, who had set up a protectorate area around the southern port of Aden in the 19th century, withdrew in 1967 from what became South Yemen. Three years later, the southern government adopted a Marxist orientation. The massive exodus of hundreds of thousands of Yemenis from the south to the north contributed to two decades of hostility between the states. The two countries were formally unified as the Republic of Yemen in 1990.
Getting started with Yemen research
(Your text or images here.)
Jurisdictions in Yemen
Yemen is divided into 19 governorates (muhafazat, singular - muhafazah):
- Ad Dali'
- Al Bayda'
- Al Hudaydah
- Al Jawf
- Al Mahrah
- Al Mahwit
note: for electoral and administrative purposes, the capital city of Sanaa is treated as an additional governorate
- Helpful websites
- (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
Help Wanted (or other title)
(For example, help wanted list of activities for your users)
(Your text or images here)
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:42.
- This page has been accessed 5,369 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News