York St Olave with St GilesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png York and Ainsty Parishes

Guide to York St Olave with St Giles, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

York St Olave with St Giles
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bulmer; York
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union York PLU
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery City of York
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.[1]

York St Olave with St Giles is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Clifton, Clifton near York, Heworth, York St Giles in the Suburbs, Rawcliffe near York, York St Giles, and Rawcliffe. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in York, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Countess of Huntingdon Methodist, and General Baptist.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

York St Olave with St Giles parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
York St Olave with St Giles Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1840-1891 (gaps)
1754-1871

BOYD
1538-1743

FREG 1538-1631 1538-1615 1538-1626
NBI

1780-1837

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  2. Maps Familysearch
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 16 October 2014.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 October 2014.
  5. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.
  6. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 744 times.