York Town, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes


York Town, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Godley; Woking
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Farnham PLU
Registration District Farnham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1851
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASH (St. Peter), a parish, under Gilbert's act, partly in the First division of the hundred of Godley, and partly in the First division of the hundred of Woking, W. division of Surrey, 4½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Farnham; containing, with Frimley chapelry and Normandy tything.[1]

York-Town, a chapelry in Ash parish; near Tongham r. station, and near Aldershot.[2]

Additional information:

York Town, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online York Town, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1841
1852
.
Indexes 1841-1875 FamilySearch[3] 1852-1876 FamilySearch[4]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474666.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[5]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Camberley St Michael (aka York Town) Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (85+ entries)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date Accessed: 15 October 2013.
  3. Batch C132651, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. Batches C132651, M132651, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  5. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,318 times.