Yorkshire Church RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Church Records
York Minster, Yorkshire.jpg

Parish Registers

Images of many of Yorkshire's parish registers are available online at Ancestry (West Riding) and FamilySearch.

Baptisms

371,661 Yorkshire entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]

Marriages

608 Yorkshire parishes are indexed in Joiner's Marriage Index (£). Coverage.[2]

229 Yorkshire parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage. Popular places to marry included the towns of Bradford, CalverleyDoncaster, Elland, Howden, Leeds, Rotherham, Rothwell, Sheffield, Wakefield, and York.[3]

94,468 Yorkshire entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[4]

Burials

Burials from 635 Yorkshire places (1,776,993 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[5]

Marriage Licences

Online

  • 1567-1630 - Paver's Yorkshire Marriage Licenses in Yorkshire Archaeological Journal:
  • 1630-1645 - Paver's Yorkshire Marriage Licenses Vol. 1 at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1660-1674 - Paver's Yorkshire Marriage Licenses Vol. 2 at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1674-1714 - Paver's Yorkshire Marriage Licenses Vol. 3 at Internet Archive - free.

Printed Indexes

  • 1613-1839 - An Index of Marriage Bonds and Allegations in the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York, 1613-1839. FHL Book 942.74 K22ne. Also available online at Origins.net - (£).

References

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of the Joiner Marriage Index', The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 1 September 2013.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  4. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,917 times.