Thorp Arch, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Yorkshire Parish of Thorp Arch)

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Thorp Arch

Guide to Thorp Arch, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Thorp Arch, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred York (Ansty)
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Barwick Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Tadcaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1595
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THORP-ARCH (All Saints), a parish, in the W. division of the Ainsty Wapentake, W. riding of York,2¾ miles (S. E. by E.) from Wetherby.[1] To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Thorp Arch exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
THORPE ARCH PARISH (1705) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1595-1899 1595-1899 1595-1806 1595-1806 1595-1924 1595-1924
FS 1705-1860

1706-1837, 1844-1846, 1866,1881

None

NBI

1780-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464295.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 341-342. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,973 times.