York Holy Trinity Goodramgate, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png York and Ainsty Parishes 

Guide to York Holy Trinity Goodramgate, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

York Holy Trinity Goodramgate, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred York
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union York PLU
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573; Separate registers exist for York St Maurice Monkgate beginning 1650
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for York St Maurice Monkgate beginning 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery City of York
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York; Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.[1]

York Trinity in Goodramgate with St John Delpike and St Maurice without Monkbar is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: York St John Delpike, York St John Del Pyke, York St Maurice without Monkbar, York St Maurice in the Suburbs, York St Maurice Monkgate, and York St Maurice. [2]

The church is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust Holy Trinity Goodramgate The church was declared redundant in 1971.

Holy Trinity Goodramgate Medieval Church

Holy Trinity history

GENIUKI page


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

York Holy Trinity Goodramgate, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
BMI = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
YORK HOLY TRINITY GOODRAMGATE (1573) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1876
1814-1899 (gaps)

BMI
1582-1812

FREG 1573-1596 1386-1488
IARC 1573-1812 1573-1812 1573-1812
NBI

1780-1837

Link to the Family History Library film numbers in their collection Holy Trinity, Goodramgate;- 1573.

York St Maurice, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

York St Maurice, Yorkshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1647-1886
1648-1886

BMI
1548-1812

NBI

1780-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464294.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  2. Maps Familysearch
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 16 October 2014.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 October 2014.
  5. http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.
  6. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,508 times.