York St Michael le Belfrey, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png York and Ainsty Parishes

York St Michael le Belfrey, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bulmer; York
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union York PLU
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1631
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery City of York
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.[1]

York St Michael le Belfry is an Ancient Parish which included Clifton, Clifton near York, Rawcliffe, York St Wilfrid, Wilfred, York St Wilfred, and Rawcliffe near York.

For a history of Clifton see Clifton Wikipedia; for history of the village and civil parish of Rawcliffe see Rawcliffe York Wikipedia.

See Medieval Parish Churches of York Wikipedia for context of this parish in the City
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Care should be taken to avoid confusion with other places in the county with the name Clifton. The post 1894 Clifton Within and Clifton Without are explained in the civil registration paragraph below.

Resources

Civil Registration

The Anglican parish included Clifton. From 1837-1894 the York registration district included Clifton which was then abolished in 1894 and divided into the separate civil parishes parishes of Clifton Within and Clifton Without

Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these

Church records

Online Records

York St Michael le Belfrey, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
  YORK ST MICHAEL LE BELFREY (1***) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None None None
JOIN None None None
AC None None None
HATH None None None
AO None None None

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the Family History Library film numbers in their collection St. Michael-le-Belfry - 1565

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.

See Yorkshire Census

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 15:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,144 times.