Yoxall, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Yoxall, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Yoxall, Staffordshire
Yoxall St Peter Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Lichfield PLU
Registration District Lichfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664; Separate records exist for Needwood Forest beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lichfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Alrewas and Weeford
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

YOXHALL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Lichfield, N. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 7½ miles (N. N. E.) from Lichfield. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists, and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births marriages and deaths. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of  Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Yoxall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
YOXALL ST PETER PARISH (1629) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1644-1900 1644-1900 1683-1900 1683-1900 1668-1879 1668-1879
FREG 1813-1862

1813-1879
FS 1666-1770, 1782-1856
1666-1770, 1782-1856

NBI

1629-1921

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1645-1909 Mar 1682-1983 Bur 1678-1879 (partially BT's) 
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1664-1871Mar 1664-1878 Bur 1664-1871 Bap/Bur missing 1870

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Lichfield Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Yoxall/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 01 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 September 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 September 2014, at 12:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,292 times.