Yuba County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to California go to Yuba County

Guide to Yuba County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Yuba County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Yuba County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat Marysville
Courthouse
Address Yuba County Courthouse
935 14th Street
Marysville, CA 95901
Phone: 530.721.6547
Yuba County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1865
Divorce, probate and court records from 1850
and  voting records from 1866[1]

 

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Yuba County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850; Yuba County was created as an original county. County seat: Marysville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

YubaRoots.com has a database of cemetery listings for Yuba County and surrounding areas.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed the book, Yuba County California Cemeteries by Anita Heston DuVall (1985).  The microfiche copy is available in Salt Lake City or in any of its affiliated Family History Centers.

The Yuba County GenWeb site also has a database of a few cemeteries.

Census

For tips on accessing Yuba County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Yuba County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

History of Yuba County California, by Thompson and West (1879)

Other histories of the area are listed by YubaRoots.com

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

An Index to Yuba County Federal Land Records is available online.

The following records of Yuba County land records have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah and are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake or they can be ordered for viewing at any of the Library's Family History Centers:

  • Deeds 1866-1906 (from Yuba County Clerk/Recorder Office in Marysville)
  • Deeds 1850-1888 (also from the Clerks office in Marysville)
  • Yuba County Plat Books 1854-1898 (from the John Q Packard Library in Marysville)

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Yuba County, California for emigrant settlers included:[3][4]

Military History and Records

Raymond H Banks has abstracted records of the Yuba County Civilian Draft Registration Cards (1917-1918) and made them available online through the USGenweb of Yuba County.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Yuba County, California served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Yuba County, California:


- 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 1st Regiment, California Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- 7th Regiment, California Infantry (Union) , Company B
- 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company G
- 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I

Naturalization/Citizenship Records

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed copies of naturalization papers found in the Yuba County Clerk's Office, and these records are available for viewing either in Salt Lake City or they can be ordered at any of the Library's Family History Centers.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yuba County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Current

Appeal-Democrat
1530 Ellis Lake Drive
Marysville, CA 95901
Telephone: 505-741-2345 or 800-831-2345
Hours: Monday through Friday 8 am to 5 pm

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Yuba - Probate records.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has made copies of probate records found in the Yuba County Clerk's Office in Marysville, California.  These copies can be read at the Library in Salt Lake City or can be ordered at any of the Library's Family History Centers.  Copies of these records are also available at the California State Archives.  The microfilm copies are as follows:

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Forbestown Museum/Yuba-Feather Historical Association

P.O. Box 54
Brownsville, CA 95919
(530) 589-0218

http://www.caohwy.com/f/forbestm.htm


Mary Aaron Memorial Museum Association
704 D Street
Marysville, CA 95901
(916) 743-1004  

Yuba County Library Local History Room
303 2nd Street
Marysville, CA 95901
530-749-7386

http://www.co.yuba.ca.us/departments/library/


County Courthouse

Main Courthouse

Address: 215 Fifth Street, Suite 200
Marysville, CA 95901
Hours: Monday - Friday: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Phone: (530) 749-7600
Courtrooms: Department 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7


Richard A. Schoenig Annex
Address: 120 Fifth Street
Marysville, CA 95901
Hours: Monday - Friday:
8:30am-12:00pm, 1:00pm - 4:30pm
Phone: (530) 749-7685

Courtrooms: Department 6

Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

For marriages from 1850-1872 see Western States Marriage Index.

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

California county clerks were to keep voting registers every other year from 1866 and well into the 20th century. These large books, called Great Registers, listed the men who registered to vote in that county. Besides name and age, the record may show place of birth, address, occupation, naturalization date and sometimes even a physical description.

These records are at the California State Library (1866-1944), and microfilmed copies are available through Family History Centers (1866-1910). Ancestry ($) has a searchable database of Yuba Great Registers from 1867-1896.

Several Yuba records from 1867 to 1894 are available on the RootsWeb site, by clicking here.

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yuba County, California. Page 88At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:37.
  • This page has been accessed 9,237 times.