Zavala County, TexasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Texas go to Counties XYZ go to Zavala County


Guide to Zavala County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records


Zavala County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Zavala County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 1, 1858
County Seat Crystal City
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


Contents

County Courthouse

Zavala County Courthouse
Crystal City, Texas 78839
Phone: 830.374.2331 

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probtate
and court records from 1884, land and military records;
District Clerk has divorce records[1]

History

The first permanent settlements occurred in the late 1860's. Zavala County was attached for judicial purposes to Uvalde, Maverick and Frio counties before it was separately organized.  Zavala county was misspelled "Zavalla" when the county was created in 1858; the spelling error was not corrected by the Texas Legislature until 1929. [2]

Parent County

1858--Zavala County was created 1 February 1858 from Maverick and Uvalde Counties. County seat:  Crystal City [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Batesville | Cometa | Chula Vista-River Spur | Crystal City | La Pryor | Las Colonias | Loma Vista

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

WorldCat

Findagrave.com

Interment.net


Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves



Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources

Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Zavala County Land Grant Index

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Zavala County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Historical Notes on Zavala County, 1986, by Ernest Holdsworth, Zavala County Historical Commission.
  • Now and Then in Zavala County, 1985, by the Zavala County Historical Commission.
  • Zavala County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
  • Texas Museums  ~  List of all museums in Texas  ~  Hidden Ancestors

Maps

Txzavalia.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Zavala County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records


A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
    Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by Family Search and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce


Societies and Libraries

Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • Zavala County TXGenWeb
  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
  • Hidden Ancestors  Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
  • USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Zavala County, Texas. Page 677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handbook of Texas Online: Zavala County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcz02
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2013, at 19:55.
  • This page has been accessed 6,622 times.