Zenda, IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

Census

For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.

Resources

Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension and vital records for Bannock County have been microfilmed and/or imaged by the Genealogical Society of Utah (now known as the Family History Library) and the resulting copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and/or imaged as well as more recent records are in the county courthouse in Pocatello[1]. Bannock County continues to move a lot of its historical records to the Idaho State Archives in Boise.

Cemeteries

There are many cemeteries in Bannock County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Bannock County, Idaho Cemetery Records.

For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.


Church

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)

The following are local congregations (wards) of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints which existed in Bannock County, Idaho prior to 1950. Many of the original records of these church units are in the Church History Library in Salt Lake City. Many of the membership records covering these units from the date of their creation to about 1948 have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City or at one of its Family History Centers.  Go to the FamilySearch Catalog and in the Place Search type in the ward of interest.

  • Bancroft
  • Bench
  • Cambridge
  • Chesterfield
  • Cleveland
  • Downey
  • Eagle Rock
  • Garden Creek
  • Grace
  • Grace 2
  • Grant
  • Hatch
  • Hawkins
  • Inkom
  • Iona
  • Ivins
  • Kelly
  • Kelly-Toponce
  • Lago
  • Lava
  • Lava Hot Springs
  • Lund
  • Marsh Center
  • McCammon
  • Merrill
  • Mound Valley
  • Oxford
  • Swan Lake
  • Thatcher
  • Topaz (Lava Hot Springs)
  • Toponce
  • Trout Creek
  • Virginia
  • Williams
  • Wilson
  • Woodland

County Commissioners' Records

The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.

Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.

Court

Some of the early court records of Bannock County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. The records filmed are for about 1891 through 1950 and include civil suits, divorce papers, and judgment dockets. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the courthouse in Pocatello.

Some of the records of the courts of Bannock County that have been microfilmed include:

  • District Court:
  • Judgment Index, 1892-1926
  • Judgment Docket, 1893-1930
  • Judgment Books, 1891-1927
  • Civil Cases, 1920-1927
  • Civil Case Files, nos. 4210-7999
  • Record of Permits, n.d.
  • Declaration of Intent (to become a naturalized citizen), v. 1-4, 1893-1911
  • Naturalization Records, v. 1-3, 1893-1917
  • County Court:
  • Register of Civil Actions, 1919-1927
  • Index to Civil Actions, 1919-1950
  • Civil Case Files, nos. 1-2733, 3873-4500, 5201-7999
  • Probate Court:
  • Civil Cases, including divorces, ca. 1892-1920
  • Case Files nos. 3000-8370
  • County Recorder:
  • Power of Attorney, 1866-1945
  • Miscellaneous Records, 1892-1957

In addition to the records of the county courts, the United States District Court, Eastern District, Pocatello, created records regarding naturalization and citizenship, as well as other court documents. The originals of the naturalization records are in the Federal Courthouse in Boise. Many have been microfilmed, including:

  • Admission of citizenship, 1893-1902
  • Declarations of Intent, nos. 1-815, 1906-1911
  • Petition and Record, nos. 1-370, 1908-1929
  • Petitions granted, 1929-1945
  • Naturalization certificates, 1929-1945
Judgment Books

Funeral Homes

Colonial Funeral Home
2005 S 4th Ave
Pocatello, ID 8320
(208) 904-1973

Cornelison-Henderson Funeral
431 N 15th Ave
Pocatello, ID 83201
(208) 232-054

Downard Funeral Home
241 N Garfield Ave
Pocatello, ID 83204
(208) 233-0686

Hall Funeral Home

Operated from about 1911 thru 1960

Records are located at the Pocatello Idaho Family History Center

Manning Wheatley Funeral Chpl
510 N 12th Ave
Pocatello, ID 83201
(208) 232-7199

Marsh Valley Funeral Home
421 Center St
McCammon, ID 83250
(208) 254-3786


Wilks Funeral Home
211 West Chubbuck Road
Chubbuck, Idaho 83202
(208) 238-8000

History

The Idaho Digital Resources website has historical images of Bannock County residents, buildings and scenes.

Published works include:

Land

Many of the early land records of Bannock County have been microfilmed, including homestead patents (1880 to 1945) and deeds (about 1883 to 1927). Microfilm copies of the records are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of its Family History Centers. Original copies of these and later records are housed at the courthouse in Pocatello.

Among the land records of Bannock County which have been microfilmed are:

  • Deeds, v. 1-58, 1865-1928
  • Index to Deeds, v. 1-5, 1880-1927
  • Tax deeds, v. 1-9, 1921-1957
  • Patent records, v. 1-3, 1880-1901
  • Homestead records, 1889-1957

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Zenda, Idaho for European and African American settlers included:

Military

World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Bannock County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm numbers 1452106-1452108) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. An abstract of the names of those who registered in the county is also available at the USGenWeb site for Bannock County. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.

A record of military servicemen from Bannock County, 1940-1946, has been microfilmed and is available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or in any of the Library's Family History Centers.

Miscellaneous Series

Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.

Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Bannock County. The originals are held in the Bannock County courthouse in Pocatello, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Naturalization and citizenship records for Bannock County, 1893-1945, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or in any of the Library's Family History Centers.

In addition to the records of the county courts, the United States District Court, Eastern District, Pocatello, created records regarding naturalization and citizenship, as well as other court documents. The originals of the naturalization records are in the Federal Courthouse in Boise. Many have been microfilmed, including:

  • Admission of citizenship, 1893-1902
  • Declarations of Intent, nos. 1-815, 1906-1911
  • Petition and Record, nos. 1-370, 1908-1929
  • Petitions granted, 1929-1945
  • Naturalization certificates, 1929-1945

Newspapers

Current
The primary newspaper for Bannock County is the Idaho State Journal, published in Pocatello. 
Historical

Newspapers have been published in several of the cities and towns of Bannock County for varying time periods. Copies of some issues are held by the Idaho State Archives in Boise. They have compiled a list by towns within the state. Bannock County towns represented in this collection include Pocatello, Aberdeen, Alameda, Downey, Lava Hot Springs, and McCammon.

Copies of the Idaho State Journal for Oct. 1949 through Dec. 1977, published in Pocatello, are also available online at Ancestry.com, a subscription website.

Copies of the Idaho State Journal from begining to current are located at the Marshall public Library in Pocatello Idaho, and also at the Idaho State University Library in Pocatello Idaho.

Pension Records

Mothers' Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho for widows and/or orphans, under certain conditions. Petitions for those pensions were filed with the probate court in each county. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise and have been indexed. Bannock County Mothers' Pensions are included in that index.

Old Age Pensions were also provided by the State of Idaho from 1931 to 1936. The original records for these pensions in the Idaho State Archives have also been indexed. Bannock County Old Age Pensions are included in that index.

Photographs

Idaho State University has many photographic images of Pocatello, Lava Hot Springs, and the Indians at Fort Hall Indian Reservation.

Bannock County Idaho Old Photos

Probate

The wills, 1888-1955, and an index to estates and guardianships prior to 1919 for Bannock County have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, or in any of the Library's Family History Centers.   Other probate files remain with the county courthouse in Pocatello and can be accessed by visiting there.

Taxation

Any existing tax assessment rolls for Bannock County should be in the courthouse in Pocatello and would need to be accessed by visiting there.

Vital Records

A volume of births, marriages, and deaths kept at the county level, 1905-1915, has been microfilmed and is available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Birth

The Birth Register for Bannock County, 1907-1911 has been microfilmed and is available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Birth records, 1911 to present, are recorded at the state level.

The Family History Library has made available online Idaho Births and Christenings 1856-1965, and there are 1588 births in Bannock County recorded there.

Marriage

8,843 marriages from 1 Jan 1892 to 23 Dec 1942 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

The Family History Library has also made available online Idaho Marriages 1878-1898, 1903-1942, and there are 943 marriages from Bannock County recorded.

Death

The Death Registers for Bannock County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. After 1911, deaths occurring in Bannock County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.

Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.

A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.

The Family History Library also has available online Idaho Deaths and Burials, 1907-1965, and there are 1076 burials from Bannock County that are on this database.

Deaths from other sources

A significant source of death and related information for eastern Idaho families can be found at the following website Eastern Idaho Death Index.

Societies and Libraries

Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.

Bannock County Historical Society
105 S. Garfield
Pocatello, ID 83201

Idaho State University
Department of Special Collections and University Archives Manuscript Collection
850 S. 9th Ave.
Pocatello, ID 83209

South Bannock County Historical Center
110 East Main
Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
  2. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map IV" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap4.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  3. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).

Bibliography

  • Hale, Betty. The History of Bannock County, 1893-1993. Logan, Utah: Herff Jones, Inc., 1993.
  • Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
  • Saunders, Arthur C. The History of Bannock County, Idaho. Pocatello, Idaho: Tribune Co., 1915.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2014, at 23:49.
  • This page has been accessed 516 times.