ApuliaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Italy Gotoarrow.pngApulia


Guide to Apulia, Italy ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Apulia (Puglia) is the most southeastern region in Italy bordering the Adriatic Sea in the east, the Ionian Sea in the southeast, and the Strait of Òtranto and Gulf of Taranto in the south. The southernmost area, called the peninsula of Salento, forms the heel of the Italian "boot".

Trulli.jpg

A trullo (plural, trulli) is a traditional stone building unique to Apulia with a cone shaped roof. They are found in the towns of Alberobello, Locorotondo, Fasano, Cisternino, Martina Franca and Ceglie Messapica.Trulli were generally used as homes or a type of barn. Usually they were built without cement or mortar. Read more about the trulli.

Getting started with Apulia research

Jurisdictions

Apulia Provinces.JPG

Research Tools

Featured Content

New province!! The Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani was organized in 2004, with its own provincial authority starting in 2008. The three main centers, Barletta, Andria and Trani, share the functions of the provincial capital. The province includes ten comuni, seven of which previously belonged to the province of Bari and three to the province of Foggia. The postal abbreviation will be BT.

The comuni of the province are Andria, Barletta, Bisceglie, Canosa di Puglia, Margherita di Savoia, Minervino Murge, San Ferdinando di Puglia, Spinazzola, Trani, and Trinitapoli. An important thing to remember is that these towns will be listed under the previous comuni in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Did you Know?

Civil registration (from 1866) for the comuni in the province of Bari can be found in a place search of the FamilySearch Catalog under "Italy, Bari - Civil registration", rather than under the individual names of the towns. The records were filmed together in such a way that it was necessary to catalog them all together in one record. This large provincial record includes the allegati or supplemental information from 1866-1900 and also the births, marriages, marriage banns, deaths, and allegati from 1900-1929. For records prior to 1866, search under the name of each individual town or comune.

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

News and Events
Topics
Title
  • (your bullet)



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 16:58.
  • This page has been accessed 4,315 times.