Braxton County, West VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
West Virginia
Braxton County
Guide to Braxton County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Braxton County, West Virginia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of West Virginia | |
![]() Location of West Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 15, 1836 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Sutton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | County Courthouse 300 Main Street P O Box 486 Sutton, WV 26601 Phone: 304-765-2833 Braxton County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death indexes 1853-1886
Probate and Land Records
Clerk Circuit Court has Divorce and Court Records[1]
History
Parent County
1836--Braxton County was created 15 January 1836 from Lewis, Kanawha and Nicholas Counties.
County seat: Sutton [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Braxton County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
USGENWEB Archives Project Cemtery Listing
Braxton County Tombstone Transcription Braxton County
Find a Grave - Braxton County, West Virginia
USGENWEB Archives Project Obituaries
Obituaries Braxton County, West Virginia
Political Graveyard Braxton County, West Virginia
West Virginia Cemetery Preservation Association
Miscellaneous Braxton County, West Virginia Obituaries
Census
For tips on accessing Braxton County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Braxton, West Virginia Federal Census
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
West Virginia Archives & History Braxton County
Maps
Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
Braxton County, West Virginia Map
Braxton County West Virginia 1895
Military
Go here for general Military Records of West Virginia
Revolutionary War
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Braxton County on page 134.]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Braxton County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Braxton County, West Virginia:
Confederate
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company B.
- - 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company B (Capt. William H. Mollohan's Company) and Company C (Braxton Blues).[3]
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company L and Company M (Braxton Dragoons).[4]
- - 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Braxton County Volunteers).[5]
- - 36th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[6]
- - 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company F (The James River Rifles).[7]
- - 62nd Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Company G.[8]
Union
Records and histories are available, including:
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Naturalization Records
West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991
Newspapers
Probate
Braxton County, West Virginia Wills 1835-1959
West Virginia Will Books
Taxation
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
Vital Records
West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. Includes marriages 1836-1847, 1865-1967 - free.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Braxton County, West Virginia Microfilms at the Library of Virginia
- First Families of Braxton County Families
- Braxton County, WV Biographies
![]() |
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos. |
|---|
Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Braxton County, West Virginia. Page 743 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
- ↑ Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
- ↑ Roger U. Delauter, 62nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 41.
- ↑ Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.
| This West Virginia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 21 May 2013, at 22:15.
- This page has been accessed 2,755 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



