Clay County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png West Virginia  Gotoarrow.png Clay County

Guide to Clay County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Clay County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Clay County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 29, 1858
County Seat Clay
Courthouse
Old Clay County, West Virginia Couthouse.JPG
Address Clay County Courthouse
207 Main Street
Clay, WV 25043
Phone: 304-354-3661
Clay County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Clerk has Birth Death Marriage records from 1858[1]

History

Henry Clay.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Speaker of the House Henry Clay (1777-1852).[2]

Clay County History

Clay County, West Virginia enotes

Parent County

1858--Clay County was created 29 March 1858 from Braxton and Nicholas Counties.
County seat: Clay [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Clay County Town Histories

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvclay.jpg

Cemeteries

Clay County Tombstone Transcription Project
Find A Grave Clay County, West Virginia
Clay County Cemetery Listings
Funeral Homes in Clay County, West Virginia

Census

For tips on accessing Clay County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

 

Church

Clay County Churches

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

[[Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia| ]]

Clay County, West Virginia Map

Clay Country TrailsRus

Clay County, West Virginia

Military

Civil War

Union

- 8th Regiment, West Virginia Infantry.[4]

Records are available:

World War I

World War I Clay County

Clay County Soldiers Killed in Action

Naturalization

West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991

Newspapers

Probate

Clay county, West Virginia Will Books 1865 - 1968
West Virginia Will Books

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.. Includes marriages 1858-1969 - free.

Clay County, West Virginia Marriages

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Clay County, West Virginia Historical Society

Clay County Public Library


Family History Centers

Web Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, West Virginia. Page 743 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:19.
  • This page has been accessed 15,543 times.