Cumberland Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Cumberland Parish

Contents

History

Cumberland Parish has served Lunenburg and Bedford counties.

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of Cumberland Parish is available online.[2]

Parish Records

Parish Registers

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

  • Cameron, John. Rev. John Cameron's Marriage Register of Bristol, Cumberland and Nottoway Parishes, Virginia, 1784-1815 and Other More Recent Records, Mainly of Nottoway Parish. FHL Film 32928 Item 3
Vestry Books

Cumberland Parish's original vestry book (1747-1831) is kept at the Library of Virginia. Copies: FHL Film 30824. Abstract:

Websites

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,789 times.