Doddridge County, West VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Doddridge County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Doddridge County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||February 4, 1845|
|County Seat||West Union|
|Address|| Doddridge County Courthouse|
118 East Court Street
West Union, WV 26456
Doddridge County Website
County Clerk has bird and death records from 1853
Marriage probate land records from 1845
See an interactive map of Doddridge County boundary changes.
Places / Localities
For tips on accessing Doddridge County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Join us in indexing the 1940 Census
Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia|1850 Map of West Virginia]
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. Includes marriages 1845-1970 - free.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Doddridge County, West Virginia. Page 743.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
|This West Virginia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 00:27.
- This page has been accessed 4,807 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More