Fairfax Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Fairfax Parish
Christchurchalexandriavirginia.jpg

Contents

History

Fairfax Parish has served Fairfax County, Virginia. The Falls Church (aka Little Falls Church) fell within the bounds of Fairfax Parish and earlier, Truro Parish.[1] Christ Church in Alexandria, St. Paul's Church in Alexandria,  and Lower Church (location forgotten) also fell under the jurisdiction of Fairfax Parish.[2]

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Cemetery

Burials at Christ Church in Alexandria began as early as 1767. A survey of the graves at this cemetery was published in 1992.[4] FHL Book 975.5296 V3p v. 3 (Volume III, Pages 133-159).

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of Fairfax Parish is available online.[2]

Rev. George S. Somerville's history of The Old Falls Church, Fairfax County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[5]

Helen Norris Cummings's history of Christ Church, Alexandria, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[6]

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Websites

References

  1. "The Falls Church," in National Register of Historic Places Inventory, p. 8, accessed 17 February 2011.
  2. 2.0 2.1 William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  3. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  4. Wesley E. Pippenger, Tombstone Inscriptions of Alexandria, Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1992).
  5. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 129-133.
  6. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 134-138.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 6,060 times.