Fayette County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Fayette County

Guide to Fayette County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records

Coordinates: 39°0′N 89.02°0′W / 39°N 89.02°W / 39; -89.02

Fayette County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Fayette County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 14, 1821
County Seat Vandalia
Courthouse
IL-fayette-courthouse.jpg
Address Fayette County Courthouse
221 South 7th Street
Vandalia, Illinois 62471
(618) 283-5000
Fayette County Website

Contents

County Organization

Fayette County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Fayette County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877 1821 1877 1830 1816 1821

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Fayette County are kept, see the Fayette County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Marquis de Lafayette.JPG
The county is named after Revolutionary War hero, the {{wpd|Gilbert du Motier, marquis de Lafayette] (1757-1834).

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Records and Resources

Biography

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Fayette County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Fayette County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation. See the Illinois Cemeteries state wiki page for more information.


Published Records

Online Gravestone Transcriptions


Cemetery Gazetteers

Census

For information and tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190028,065
191028,0750%
192026,187−6.7%
193023,487−10.3%
194029,15924.1%
195024,582−15.7%
196021,946−10.7%
197020,752−5.4%
198022,1676.8%
199020,893−5.7%
200021,8024.4%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Fayette County on page 186-187.]

State

Church Records

Timeline of early churches in Fayette County [2] :

  • 1818 - Methodists were preaching in the county since the state was admitted to the Union.
  • 1824 - Methodist church and grave yard in Sharon Twp
  • 1825 - Methodists first preach in Wilberton Twp.
  • 1828 - First Presbyterian Church organized in Vandalia
  • 1830 -Regular Baptists organized a church in Otego Twp
  • 1831 - Methodist church first built in Vandalia
  • Early 1830s - Baptist put up first church in Hurricane Twp. They were followed by Iniversalists and Methodists
  • 1834 - Methodists organized in Sefton Twp.
  • 1836 - Baptists built first church house in Wilberton Twp.
  • 1843 - Methodists organized in Otego Twp, though a preacher had been there since 1825.
  • 1844 - Lutheran Church  with both English and German members organized in Vandalia
  • 1845 - Mother of Sorrows Catholic Church celebrated first Mass in the courthouse
  • 1846 - Presbyterians organized in Otego Twp.
  • 1846 - Regulat Baptists was the first church organized in Ramsey Twp. followed by Methodists the same year.
  • 1846 - German Methdists gained strength in Sefton Twp.
  • 1850 - First Church in Shelbyville, Aventa Twp. built by Methodists though the first sermons were probably preached on homes in early to mid 1830s
  • 1851 Lutheran Church in Wheatland Twp. By then there were other churches in the townshp - German Reformed, Methodist, United Brethern, and Christian Churches.
  • 1851 - Christian Church organized in Ramsey Twp.
  • 1850s - Church building erected in Kaskaskia Twp. that served Methodists, Baptists, and Presbyterians
  • 1855 - Catholics built a church in Avanta Twp.
  • 1857 - Cumberland Presbyterians organized in Lone Grove Twp.folloef by other dchurches in that twp.
  • 1859 - Methodist church organized in La Clede, La Clede Twp., though first preachers were Baptists in the mid 1830s.
  • 1867 - Catholics organized in Ramsey Twp.
  • 1875 - Comberland Presbyterians organized in La Clede Twp.
  • 1894 - Baptist Church established in Vandaila

For an list of current churches in Fayette County with links to their websites Click Here.

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois at Springfield - search for Fayette County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the UIS IRAD Wiki page.

  • 1821-1861 Circuit Clerk's Miscellaneous FilesIRAD-UIS
  • 1831-1860 Circuit Court Fee Books IRAD-UIS
  • 1836-1842 Circuit Court Dockets IRAD-UIS
  • 1839-1870 Justice of the Peace Dockets IRAD-UIS
  • 1847-1858 Jury Registers IRAD-UIS

Directories

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

Mailing Lists

Message Boards

Newspapers and Periodicals

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois at Springfield - search for Fayette County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the UIS IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of original records

Online Resources

  • BLM GLO Records. Search original land patents for Fayette County from the Govenment Land Office (GLO) or Eastern States Office. Some searches include images of the original warrants. All search results include the patant details needed for requesting copies of the land entry files at the National Archives. The GLO is the custodian of millions of land title documents. The General Land Office Automated Records Project is responsible for making these important documents available to the public.
  • Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales. The Illinois State Archives has an online index to the records of Public land sales held by the State Archives. The indexes are by purchasers name and by legal description. This is a statewide collection with nearly 550,000 land sales fro 54740 square miles.
  • "Illinois Public Land Purchase Records" This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at ancestry.com ($)
  • "U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796 to 1907:" Available at ancestry.com Records of Illinois are among the 13 states included in this set. It includes images of the land patents which contain the information necessary for ordering the complete case files from the National Archives. This appears to be the same information that is online at the Federal Land Office site http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/.
  • Sheldon, Theodore. Land registration in Illinois. Chicago: Callaghan Co., 1901. Digital book. Expains the laws regarding land and the land systems used in Illinois. Includes court cases involving land issues. In addition to being on Ancestry, this book is available online at no cost at Internet Archives and Google Books.


Additional Resources

Additional resources for Fayette County land and property may be found in the FamilySearch Catalog. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Ilfayette.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Fayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Fayette County.

- 7th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company F.
- 7th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 8th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company H.
- 11th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company E.
- 14th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company F.
- 35th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, G, H and K.
- 38th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 41st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 54th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 62nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- 68th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 97th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies F, H and I.
- 143rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company E.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

Original probate records are held by the circuit court clerk. Probate records include wills, inventories, settlements, and guardianship records. For more information see the wiki page Illinois Probate Records.  Few probate records are held at IRAD for Christian County. Explore how to search IRAD–UIS. The following copies are available at IRAD–UIS and in the FamilySearch Catalog:

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Fayette County are kept, see the Fayette County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Fayette County.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site.

The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Alton Illinois Family History Center
6500 Humbert Rd.
Godfrey, Illinois
618-466-4352

Centralia Illinois Family History Center
2241 E. Calumet St.
Centralia, Illinois
618-532-3482

Litchfield Illinois Family History Center
12367 Robertson Road
Litchfield, Illinois 65056
217-324-2396

O'Fallon Illinois Family History Center
255 Fairwood Hills Rd.
O'Fallon, Illinois
618-632-0210

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS) houses the records for Fayette County. The link will help you find and use the records. There address is:

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
LIB144
University of Illinois at Springfield Region
One University Plaza, MS BRK 140
Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407
217-206-6520

Public Libraries

St. Elmo Public Library District
311 West Cumberland Road
St. Elmo, Illinois 62458
618-829-5544
Email:Librarian@stelmolibrary.org

Evans Public Library District
215 South Fifth Street
Vandalia, Illinois 62471
618-283-2824

Ramsey Public Library
401 South Superior
Ramsey, Illinois 62080
618-423-2019

Social Groups Online

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth (1860) and death (1878) certificates are kept by the Fayette County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are kept by the County Clerk from 1877 to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

Copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Universtiy of Illinois–Springfield(UIS). Search Fayette County records in the Local Governmental Records Holdings Database . For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD–UIS Wiki page.

Explore Cass County vital records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. Other libraries(at WorldCat) also hold copies of abstracted Fayette County vital records. (How to explore WorldCat).


Births

  • 1860–1925 Birth Records index available at UIS IRAD Region search for Fayette County
  • 1860–1921 Birth Certificates available at UIS IRAD Region search for Fayette county
  • 1877–1917 Birth and Death Records index available at UIS IRAD Region search for Fayette County
  • 1877–1917 Birth Records available at UIS IRAD Region search for Fayette county

For help with using the above links, click here for how to use IRAD.

Marriages

For help with using the above links, click here for how to use IRAD.

Deaths

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 193. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  2. Historical Encyclopedia of Illinoise and History of Fayette County, ed. Robert W. Ross and John Bullington. Chicago, Illinois : Munsell Publishing Co., 1910.FHL book 977.3797 H2f

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 22,560 times.