Franklin County, MaineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Franklin County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Franklin County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records
Franklin County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Franklin County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded March 20, 1838
County Seat Farmington
Courthouse
Franklin-County-Courthouse.jpg
Address Franklin County Courthouse
38 Main Street
Farmington, ME 04938
Phone: 207.778.6614
Franklin County Website

Contents

County Clerk

Town clerks  have birth, marriage, death and burial records. Clerk Superior Court  has divorce records from 1852 and court records. Register of Deeds  has land records. Probate Judge  has probate records. [1]

History

Parent County

Created 20 March 1838 from parts of Cumberland, Oxford, Kennebec and Somerset counties [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

MaineFranklin CountyQuébecOxford CountyKennebec CountyAndroscoggin CountySomerset CountyGorham GoreBeattie TownshipLowelltown TownshipMerrill StripSkinner TownshipCoburn GoreMassachusetts GoreChain of Ponds TownshipKibby TownshipSeven Ponds TownshipAlder Stream TownshipJim Pond TownshipStetsontown TownshipTim Pond TownshipEustisWyman TownshipCoplin PlantationLang TownshipDavis TownshipCarrabassett ValleyRangeleyDallas PlantationRedington TownshipMount Abram TownshipKingfieldRangeley PlantationSandy River PlantationTownship DTownship EMadrid TownshipSalem TownshipFreeman TownshipTownship 6 North of WeldPhillipsWeldAvonStrongNew VineyardIndustryCarthagePerkins TownshipTempleFarmingtonNew SharonWashington TownshipWiltonChestervilleJayBowmantown TownshipParmachenee TownshipOxbow TownshipLynchtown TownshipUpper Cupsuptic TownshipParkertown TownshipLower Cupsuptic TownshipLincoln PlantationAdamstown TownshipMagalloway PlantationRichardsontown TownshipUptonTownship CC SurplusGrafton TownshipAndover North SurplusAndover West Surplus TownshipAndoverByronRoxburyRiley TownshipNewryBethelHanoverRumfordMexicoMilton TownshipDixfieldPeruSumnerHartfordCantonLivermoreLivermore FallsFayetteWayneReadfieldManchesterMount VernonBelgradeViennaRomeMercerSmithfieldNorridgewockStarksMadisonAnsonNew PortlandEmbdenSolonBinghamConcord TownshipLexington TownshipMoscowPleasant Ridge PlantationHighland PlantationCaratunkCarrying Place TownshipCarrying Place Town TownshipDead River TownshipBigelow TownshipFlagstaff TownshipSpring Lake TownshipPierce Pond TownshipBowtown TownshipThe Forks PlantationEast MoxieSquaretown TownshipMoxie GoreWest ForksLower Enchanted TownshipSpencer TownshipKing and Bartlett TownshipHaynestown TownshipHobbstown TownshipUpper Enchanted TownshipJohnson Mountain TownshipChase Stream TownshipSaplin TownshipMisery TownshipMisery GoreParlin Pond TownshipBradstreet TownshipRayton TownshipAppleton TownshipHoleb TownshipAttean Pond TownshipJackmanLong Pond TownshipSandwich Academy GrantRockwood StripBrassua TownshipThorndike TownshipMoose RiverDennistownForsyth TownshipSaint-Augustin-de-WoburnPiopolisMarstonLac-MéganticFrontenacNantesAudetSainte-Cécile-de-WhittonLac-DroletSaint-LudgerSaint-Robert-Bellarmin
Modern town borders in Franklin County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.

Towns

Plantations:  Coplin Plantation | Dallas Plantation | Rangeley Plantation | Sandy River Plantation.  For further details see Maine plantations.

Extinct Towns and Plantations:[2]  Berlin | Bloomfield Plantation | Freeman | Greenvale Plantation | Jackson Plantation | Jerusalem Plantation | Lang Plantation | Letter E Plantation | Little River Plantation | Madrid | Number 6 Plantation | Perkins Plantation | Salem | Washington Plantation | Wyman Township[3]

Unorganized territories.  For further details see Maine townships.

  • East Central Franklin
    • Freeman (aka Little River Plantation)
    • Salem
    • Madrid
    • Twp 4 R1 Bingham's Kennebec Pur. W. of the Kennebec Riv. (Mt. Abram)
    • Township 1 R2 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Redington)
  • North Franklin
    • Township 2 R3 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Lang)
    • Township 3 R3 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Davis)
    • Township 2 R4 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Tim Pond)
    • Township 3 R4 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Stetsontown)
    • Township 1 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Jim Pond)
    • Township 2 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Alder Stream)
    • Township 3 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Seven Ponds)
    • Township 1 R6 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Kibby)
    • Township 2 R6 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Chain of Ponds)
    • Township 3 R6 West of Bingham's Kennebec Pur. (Massachusetts Gore)
    • Township 1 R7 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Skinner)
    • Township 2 R7 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Merrill Strip)
    • Gore N. of Twp 2 & 3 R6 W. of Bingham's Kennebec Pur. (Coburn Gore)
    • Township 1 R8 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Lowelltown)
    • Township 2 R8 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Beattie)
    • Gore N. of Twp 1 R8 West of Bingham's Kennebec Pur. (Gorham Gore)
  • South Franklin
  • West Central Franklin
  • Wyman

Communities   • Chisholm   • Dryden   • Farmington   • Oquossoc   • Wilton

Neighboring Counties:  Androscoggin | Kennebec | Oxford | Somerset | Quebec counties: Frontenac County

Resources

Cemeteries

Avon Valley Road Cemetery

Take the Avon Valley Road, off Route 4, in Avon. Go to the old school house. Cemetery is about 1/2 mile beyond the schoolhouse on the left. Can be seen from the road.

Day Mountain Cemetery

Located on Day Mountain Road near Avon/Temple Line. In Terrible Condition No Roads in to it. Must Hike About 2 1/2 Miles

Knott Burial Plot

On the left North of the Townhouse 1.4 miles South of Phillips Townline

Mile Square Cemetery

Dates after 1986 taken from Franklin Journal

Mount Blue Cemetery

Going North on Route #4 Take Left at Town House. Go 1.8 Miles Up The Hill. Cemetery On Left in Good Condition

Pease-Thompson Cemetery

Located On Route #4 Just South Of The Town House

Spinney Cementery

Cemetery located on State Route 4 about 1 mile West of the Strong Town line.

Sprague-Howland Cemetery

Leave Phillips On Route #149 South Toward Strong, Maine. Go 2.6 Miles, Cemetery Down Over the Banking On Right. In Pasture of "Old Voter Farm"

Carthage Cemetery

Leave Weld Village heading toward Carthage. Go about 3 miles to Podunk Pond Rd. Take this Rd. for about 3 miles onto Storer Hill. The Cemetery is on the left.

Storer Hill Cemetery

Leave Weld Village heading toward Carthage. Go about 3 miles toPodunk Pond Rd. Take this Rd. ofr about 1.5 miles onto Storer Hill. The Cemetery is on the left at the crest of the hill. Old fencing around cemetery.

Tainter Corner Cemetery

The Cemetery is located off Route 2 west of Wilton toward the Village of East Dixfield. Three (3) miles out of the East Dixfield toward Rumford is the Town Line between Wilton & Carthage. One (1) mile beyond the town line marker is a right turn. Take this turn - cemetery is located just a short distance on the right. Somewhat overgrown with stones broken and down. Old house beyond cemetery was onece the Tainter Corner Post Office.

Newman Cemetery

Berry Mills Cemetery

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

History

Local histories are available for Franklin County, Maine. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Franklin County, Maine served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Franklin County, Maine:


- 1st Regiment, Maine Cavalry

Newspapers

Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes free; Digital page images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.

Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png
Early Maine newspapers routinely reported on news, obituaries, births, marriages etc. from around the state. Be sure to search the indexes for all Maine newspapers to find your target ancestor.

Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Maine newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records for Washington County, Maine can be found at [1]

Taxation

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 304, Franklin County, Maine. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Before an extinct town (or plantation) was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  3. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 97. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:50.
  • This page has been accessed 18,569 times.