Lynnhaven Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Lynnhaven Parish
Olddonationchurch2.jpg

Contents

History

Lynnhaven Parish has served Lower Norfolk and Princess Anne counties. Also known as Old Donation Church. Emmanuel Episcopal Church was built after Old Donation Church burned in 1843.

Eastern Shore Chapel fell within the bounds of Lynnhaven Parish.[1]

Founded

Resources

DonationPrincessAnne.jpg

Cemetery

In 1985, surveys of graves at Old Donation Church FHL Book 975.551 V3g (pages 1-8), Eastern Shore Chapel (pages 9-83), and Emmanuel Church (pages 161-164) were published.

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of Lynnhaven Parish is available online.[3]

  • Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of Lynnhaven Parish, Princess Anne County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 18, No. 3 (Jul. 1938):270-285. FHL Book 973 H25w; digital version at JSTOR - free.
  • Perrine, Bob. "Old Donation History," available online.

Rev. C.B. Bryan's history of Lynnhaven Parish, Princess Anne County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[4]

James compiled a list of Lynnhaven's ministers and vestrymen:

  • James, Edward W. "Ministers and Vestrymen, Lynnhaven Parish, Princess Anne County, 1723-1804," The Lower Norfolk County, Virginia Antiquary, Vol. 5, Part 1 (1904):28-31. Digitized by Google Books - free.

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers have been lost, but the vestry book survives and has been published:

  • Mason, George Carrington. The Colonial Vestry Book of Lynnhaven Parish, Princess Anne County, Virginia, 1723-1786. Newport News, Va.: the author, 1949. Digital version at Internet Archive - free; FHL Book 975.551 K2m.

Marriages solemnized by the Anglican minister of Lynnhaven Parish have been preserved:

  • 1788-1814 - James, Edward W. "A List of Marriages Solemnized by the Revd Anthony Walke [Lynnhaven Parish, Princess Anne County]," The Lower Norfolk County, Virginia Antiquary, 1788-1796: Vol. 2, Part 1 (1897):17-24; 1797-1814: Vol. 2, Part 2 (1897):50-55. Digitized by Internet Archive - free.

Nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century parish registers have been published:

  • Walter, Alice Granbery. Lynnhaven Parish Register, 1838-1913, Princess Anne County, Virginia. Virginia Beach, Va.: A.G. Walter, 1986. FHL Book 975.551 K2L.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Old Donation Episcopal Church

References

  1. Edward W. James, "Eastern Shore Chapel, Princess Anne County, 1754," The Lower Norfolk County, Virginia Antiquary, Vol. 5, Part 3 (1905):124-126. Digital version at Google Books - free.
  2. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  3. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  4. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 264-285.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 5,417 times.