Preston County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Preston County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


United States  Gotoarrow.png  West Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Preston County

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Preston County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Preston County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 19, 1818
County Seat Kingwood
Courthouse
Address Preston County Courthouse
101 West Main Street #101
Kingwood, WV 26537
Phone: 304-329-0070
Preston County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk had birth, marriage, deaths
Probate and land records from 1869
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records[1]

History

Parent County

1818--Preston County was created 19 January 1818 from Monongalia County.  County seat: Kingwood [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

1869--The courthouse burned.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvpreston.jpg

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court Records

Family Histories

General
  • Genealogy of Some Early Families in Grant and Pleasants Districts, Preston County, West Virginia. Baltimore, Md., 1977.
Bibliography

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Naturalization

West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991


Military Records

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Preston County on page 136.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812

Preston County, Virginia (now West Virginia ) War of 1812

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Preston County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Preston County, West Virginia:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company D.

Records and histories are available, including:

Newspapers

Probate

Preston County, West Virginia Will Books 1869-1970


West VirginiaWill Books

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Preston County Historical Society
PO Box 307
Rowlesburg, WV 26425

Family History Centers

Web Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Preston County, West Virginia. Page 745 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:19.
  • This page has been accessed 8,136 times.