St. Margarets Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  St. Margaret's Parish

Mangohickchurch.jpg

Contents

History

St. Margaret's Parish has served King William and Caroline counties.

"Located at Ruther Glen, Virginia. St. Margaret's Parish, established in 1720, was one of the three original parishes of Caroline County and encompassed the area lying between the Mattapony and the North Anna-Pamunkey boundaries. In the beginning, St. Margaret's Parish extended beyond Caroline into King William and Spotsylvania counties, but in 1742 the General Assembly placed the lands outside Caroline County in other parishes. Since that time all of St. Margaret's Parish has been in Caroline County.
"There were three large brick churches in this parish: Chesterfield, Bull Church and Reedy Church. When the old churches were destroyed, an unpretentious frame clapboard building was erected near Ruther Glen to take their place. In 1866, the members of the Episcopal Church in Bowling Green transferred their membership to this church."[1]

Mangohick Church served parishioners as a chapel of ease in the eighteenth century. William Byrd referred to Mangohick as the New Brick Church in 1732 (it was built about 1730). It is currently a Baptist church.

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Cemetery

A survey of the few surviving graves was undertaken in 1961: FHL Book 975.5362 V3c v. 1 (page 136).

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of St. Margaret's Parish is available online.[3]

Church Records

Colonial parish registers do not survive.

Websites

References

  1. Herbert Ridgeway Collins, Cemeteries of Caroline County, Virginia. Volume 1 - Public Cemeteries (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1994), 136.
  2. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  3. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,103 times.