Tucker County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Tucker County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png  West Virginia  Tucker County

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Tucker County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Tucker County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 7, 1856
County Seat Parsons
Courthouse
Tucker County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Tucker County Courthouse
215 1st Street
Parsons, WV 26287
Phone: 304-478-2414
Tucker County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has bird, marriage, death since 1856 Clerk Circuit Court has Divorce & Court Records & Naturalization Records[1]

History


Parent County

1856--Tucker County was created 7 March 1856 from Randolph County.
County seat: Parsons [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvtucker.jpg

Biographies

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Tucker County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Probate

Tucker County, West Virginia Will Books 1825 - 1970


Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

Learning How toEdit our Wiki Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tucker County, West Virginia. Page 746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:19.
  • This page has been accessed 3,906 times.