Ulster County, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to New York go to Ulster County

Guide to Ulster County, New York ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

This page describes sources of genealogical data about Ulster County, New York families, including links to smaller localities in the county. New York-related pages show useful statewide sources. United States pages explain the terminology and contents of genealogical records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New York_Online_Genealogy_Records New York
Online Records


Ulster County, New York
Map
Map of New York highlighting Ulster County
Location in the state of New York
Map of the U.S. highlighting New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1683
County Seat Kingston
Courthouse
Ulster County courthouse, Kingston, NY.jpg
Photo courtesy of Daniel Case
Address 244 Fair Street
P.O. 1800
Kingston, New York 12402
Ulster County Website

Contents

Ulster County New York Historical Facts

Original County

1 November 1683: Ulster County was created as an original New York county.[1]

Neighboring Counties

Columbia · Delaware · Dutchess · Greene · Orange · Sullivan[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New York County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New York County Boundary Maps" (1683-1915) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

HardenburghShandakenDenningWoodstockSaugertiesKingstonUlsterKingstonHurleyOliveEsopusRosendaleMarbletownRochesterWawarsingShawangunkGardinerNew PaltzLloydPlattekillMarlboroughOrange CountySullivan CountyDelaware CountyGreene CountyDutchess CountyNYUlsterCoTwnshps.png


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in New York Counties see: New York Counties with Burned Courthouses

Ulster County New York Genealogy Resources

Bible Records

  • 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories
Findagrave.com* Family History Library* Findagrave.com*
Interment.net* WorldCat* Tombstone Transcription Project*
Cemetery Site*   NYGenWeb Cemeteries*
New York Gravestones*   epodunk*
NYGenWeb Cemeteries*   Billion Graves*
Billion Graves*   Names in Stone*
Names in Stone*    
Linkpendium*    
Ancestry*    
   *See the New York Cemeteries page for details about each site.

Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

  • 1715 - Scott, Kenneth. "Settlers West of the Highlands, Orange County, 1715," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 103, No. 4 (Oct. 1972):227-232. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 103. Identifies early settlers and biographical information.
  • 1750-1799 - Scott, Kenneth. "Ulster County, New York, Jury Lists, 1750-1799," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 60 (1972):169-179. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 60 (1972).
  • 1798-1812 - Scott, Kenneth, Julius Bloch and Leo Hershkowitz, "Ulster County Freeholders, 1798-1812," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 53 (1965):7-30. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 53 (1965).
Federal

U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:

  • Available online at Ancestry ($).
  • Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[3]
  • Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
  • Also on FHL Films 1415128–42 which can be ordered through any Family History Center.
State
Source 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Ancestry.com - - - Yes - Yes - - Yes Yes
Family History Library - - - Yes Yes Yes Lost Yes Yes Yes
FamilySearch Historical Records - - - Yes Yes Yes Lost Yes Yes Yes
New York State Library - - - Yes Yes Yes Lost Yes Yes Yes

New York State 1865 and 1875 Census Marriage, Mortality; and 1865 Soldier Mortality records:

  • Images available online at New York State Census, 1865 and New York State Census, 1875. Click on the link to go to the page, then click on the ‘Browse through images’ link and select your county, then select an ancestor's town and browse to the end of the population schedule until you find the Marriage, Mortality, and 1865 soldier mortality schedules.
  • Includes marriages and deaths for the 12 months prior to the census, ending 1 June of the census year.
  • Marriage entry content: Husband's name, wife's name, ages and previous marital status, month and day and place of marriage, and church or civil ceremony.
  • Death entry content: Name, age, sex, color, marital status, month and day of death, native state or country, occupation and cause of death.
  • 1865 deaths of officers and enlisted men entry content: Name, age, marital status, citizenship status, enlistment date, original regiment, original rank, regiment at death, rank at death, promotions, death date and place, manner of death, surviving associates, and burial place.
  • Also on microfilm. See the Family History Library line in the above State Census Chart. These can be ordered through any Family History Center.

Church Records

Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level.  Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.

For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.

Early records for Kingston, Ulster County, New York A valuable source records for genealogists with ancestors from Kingston, Dutchess, and Albany counties New York is the Baptismal and marriage registers of the Old Dutch Church of Kingston, Ulster County, New York. It contains records from 1660 to 1809. (The book on Google Books is fully searchable.) Since this church was the only established congregation between New York City and Albany it contains information for many residents of the area, the only records that exist.

  • Trinity Parish FHL film 860334 Item 5 These are part of the DAR collection and are a transcription.
  • Frost, Josephine S.C. Quaker meeting records, state of New York: Ulster County, Columbia County, Albany County, Clinton County Other Libraries; FHL Book 974.733 K28
  • 1730-1880 Reformed Dutch Church records in Ulster and Orange County FHL film 1405479 Item 3 Includes baptisms and marriages in Kingston 1766-1776, Catsbaan 1730-1760, Esopus 1790-1850, Clove, High Falls 1808-1850, Woodstock 1805-1880, Shokan 1799-1850, Walden 1793-1853, and Highland 1810-1860.
  • 1887-1908 Stewartville Reformed Church Ulster County, FHL film 963004 Contains minutes of meetings, records of marriages and baptisms, lists of members.

Additional Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ulster County, New York Church Records  in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.

  • 1693-1775 - Scott, Kenneth. "Ulster County, New York, Court Records, 1693-1775," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 60 (1972):276-285; Vol. 61 (1973):60-68, 137-140, 205-212, 295-302. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 60 (1972); v. 61 (1973).

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

  • Rootsweb message board for Ulster County, New York has many information threads about families that resided in that county. There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.

History

Immigration

  • O'Neill, Terri Bradshaw and Patricia Law Hatcher. "The 1708 Palatines of Ulster County," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 139, No. 3 (Jul. 2008):165-185. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 139. The authors thanked Henry Z. Jones for his advice and encouragement.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.

Original land records in Ulster County, New York began in [?dateyear?]. These records are housed at the [?repository?] in [?town?].

Online

Microforms

Books

Nyulster.jpg
Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:

Additional resources

Additional resources for Ulster County, New York land records may be found in the Ulster County, New York – Land Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Migration

The migration routes used by early European settlers to and from Ulster County, New York included: [4]

Military

Revolutionary War

Ulster County men served in the 4th New York Regiment.[5]

Civil War

Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.

Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.

Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37) and can be ordered for viewing at your local Family History Center. They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).

Available towns. Registers are available for: Denning · Esopus · Hardenburgh · Kingston · Lloyd · Marlborough · New Paltz · Olive · Plattekill · Rochester · Saugerties · Shandaken · Wawarsing · Woodstock.

Regiments. Service men in Ulster County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Ulster County:[6]

- 1st Battalion, New York Sharpshooters, 6th Company.
- 1st Regiment, New York Engineers, Company E.
- 7th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company D.
- 7th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- 15th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company M.
- 20th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company H.
- 25th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Companies E, L and M.
- 48th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 56th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company G.
- 65th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 71st Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K.
- 80th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 102nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies B and G.
- 120th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H and I.
- 124th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 132nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company H.
- 156th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H and I.
- 168th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company G.
- 176th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies C, E and G. 
- 178th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 192nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies D, F, G, I and K.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Olde Ulster ran for 10 volumes between 1905 and 1914. Many volumes are available online, see WeRelate. The Family History Library has a complete collection: FHL Books 974.73 B2o v. 1-10 as well as a comprehensive name index: FHL Film 17987 Item 9. This historical and genealogical magazine published, among other items, the early records of Katsbaan Dutch Church.

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Probate Records

Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the Ulster County, New York County Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content:  Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types:  Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.

Probate Petitions

In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. [7] [8]

These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the Ulster County Surrogate Court.
The petitions for Ulster County, New York are also available on microfilm at the Family History Library and its centers:

Online Probate Indexes and Abstracts

Probate Records on Microfilm

  • 1662–1822 Probate court records, wills and administrations, Surrogate Court. FHL Film 481433
  • 1787–1916 Probate records: Index to wills 1787–1929, Wills 1787–1917, Minutes 1830–1917, Letters and bonds of administration and testamentary 1787–1906, Surrogate Court.  FHL Film 1535460 (92 films)
The microfilmed version of Ulster County probate files have a quirk. The index cards follow the probate files, rather than precede them.[10]

Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts

Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ulster County, New York probate wills in online catalogs like:

Repositories

See also a List of New York Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Cornell University, Guide to Historical Resources in Ulster County, New York Repositories. ([Ithaca, New York]: New York Historical Resources Center, Olin Library, Cornell University, 1988). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.734 A3g. Includes index. Includes references to some family histories and genealogies.

Archives, Libraries and Museums

COUNTY ARCHIVES

Ulster County Archives
300 Foxhall Ave,
Kingston, New York 12401
Phone: 845-340-3415

The Archives operate under the auspices of the Ulster County Clerk. They have a catalog online. Records available at the county Archives include:

  • Census records and indexes
  • Naturalization records
  • Birth, marriage and death records
  • City directories
  • Poorhouse records
  • Maps

PUBLIC LIBRARIES

There are some eighteen public libraries in Ulster County New York. They belong to the Mid-Hudson Library System that serves the communities of Columbia, Duchess, Greene, Putnam, and Ulster Counties. They share a catalog that includes a sizeable collection of genealogical materials. The shared catalog is found on the library systems main page. For information on the individual libraries in Ulster County, click here.

New York-Ulster County, Elting Memorial Library
Historical and Genealogical Department
93 Main Street
New Paltz, NY 12561
845-255-5030
havilandheidgerd@yahoo.com

Genealogical resources: Family History Library microfilm access, church, cemetery, bible, census, and vital records; maps, city directories, obituaries, compiled genealogies, vertical files, newspapers, and periodicals.

There are four Ulster County public libraries within the Ramapo Catskill Library System. To see them, Click Here. They are near the bottom of the page.

Bevier House Museum
2682 Route 209,
Marbletown, New York
Telephone: 845-338-5614

The museum associated with the Ulster County Historical Society has a research library as well as collections of 18th and 19th century furniture, decorative arts and tools and a Civil War room.

County Historian's Office

Anne M. Gordon, Historian
38 Rondout Harbor
Port Ewen, NY 12466
Phone: 845-331-7380
E-mail: pasaran@msn.com

Genealogical Resources: The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.

Ulster County Town and Village Historians

Courthouses

The Ulster County Clerk's office has marriage, divorce, court and land records as well as the state census. The Surrogate Court has probate records. For further information about where the records for Ulster County are held, see the Ulster County Courthouses page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FHC for Ulster County, New York is the Kingston New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Societies

Ulster County Genealogical Society (UCGS)
P.O. Box 536,
Hurley, NY 12443

Travel Directions:

  • From New York State Thruway (I-87)
  • Take Exit 19 (Kingston). Follow signs for Route 28 West.
  • After traffic light, take second right onto Route 209 South (Ellenville).
  • At the sign for Hurley make a right, just after you go under the overpass.
  • Make a right at the Stop sign onto Main Street. You will see the Hurley Reformed Church on your left.

The Society research library is located in the basement of Schadewald Hall
The society has extensive genealogical reference library located in Hurley Reformed Church. It publishes a quarterly newsletter, "The GENIE", to Society members.The research library has Bible Records, Cemetery Records, Census Records, Church Records, Directories, Gazetteers, Genealogies, Maps, Naturalization Records, Newsletters, Newspapers, Obituaries, Reference Books, Surname File Folders, Tax Lists, Undertaker Records, Vital Records, and Wills.

Bevier House Museum / Ulster County Historical Society
Mailing address: Ulster County Historical Society,
P.O. Box 279,
Stone Ridge, New York 12484-0279
Physical address: Bevier House Museum,
2682 Route 209,
Marbletown, New York
Telephone: 845-338-5614
Ulster County Historical Society and museum located in stone farmhouse that was home to Bevier family 1715-1938. Collections of 18th and 19th century furniture, decorative arts and tools. Civil War room, research library.

For a more complete list of Ulster County Societies and museums, arrainged alphabetically by town, Click Here.

Social Groups Online

Taxation

  • 1709-1712, 1718-1721 - "Ulster County, New York, Tax Lists, 1709, 1709-10, 1711-12, 1718-19, and 1720-21," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1931):146-150; Vol. 62, No. 3 (Jul. 1931):272-283; Vol. 62, No. 4 (Oct. 1931):370-378; Vol. 63, No. 1 (Jan. 1932):86-90; Vol. 63, No. 2 (Apr. 1932):199-203. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 62-63.

Town Records

Town records in New York may include early births, marriages, deaths, divorces, local histories, selected military records, and town meeting minutes. For further details, try the links to individual town Wiki pages found in Places. See also:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). NEHGS online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists.


Vital Records

Vital records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. See also How to order New York Vital Records or order electronically online.

See the heading Places on this wiki page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. See New York Vital Records for a discussion about beginning dates and availability of vital records in New York.

Use substitute records for birth, marriage, and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.

  • 1847-1850 Hasbrouck, Kenneth Edward. Births, Marriages, Deaths, New Paltz, Ulster County, New York: 1847-1850: Taken from an Early Town Clerk's Record. 1990. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Birth

Early births were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording births in 1881. Births were not recorded on the county level.

Birth Substitutes

  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
Marriage

Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. Marriages were recorded by the Ulster County, New York clerk starting in 1908 and go until 1925.[11]

Marriage Substitutes

  • 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groom, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
  • 1864-5, 1874-5 See Marriage Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for marriage information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
Divorce

Pre–1787

All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare.

1787–1847

All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery.

1847–present

All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records.

Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.

Death

Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.

Death Substitutes

  • 1732-1825 Scott, Kenneth. "Early Inquests of Ulster County, New York, 1732-1825," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 57 (1969):53-59, 73. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 57 (1969).
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information.
  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.
  • 1864-5, 1874-5 See Mortality Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for death information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Ulster County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Ulster– Vital Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Voting Registers

Ulster County New York Genealogy Websites

Ulster County New York Places

Ulster County New York Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 492. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook, 478.
  3. Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
  4. Handybook, 850-51.
  5. "4th New York Regiment," Valley Forge Legacy, http://valleyforgemusterroll.org/regiments/ny4.asp, accessed 31 May 2012.
  6. Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
  7. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  8. Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 57.
  9. About Abstracts of Wills, Admins. and Guardianships in NY State, 1787-1835 at New York Ancestors, accessed 8 December 2011, http://newyorkancestors.org/.
  10. Information shared by New York expert David Samuelsen, 17 November 2011.
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488-493. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 December 2014, at 20:34.
  • This page has been accessed 30,714 times.