Westchester County, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to New York go to Westchester County

Guide to Westchester County New York genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military, immigration and naturalization records. This page describes sources of genealogical data about Westchester County, New York families, including links to smaller localities in the county. New York-related pages show useful statewide sources. United States pages explain the terminology and contents of genealogical records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New York_Online_Genealogy_Records New York
Online Records


Westchester County, New York
Map
Map of New York highlighting Westchester County
Location in the state of New York
Map of the U.S. highlighting New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 16, 1791
County Seat White Plains
Courthouse
Ny-westchester-ch.jpg
Address 111 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd
White Plains, NY 10601
Westchester County Website

Contents

Westchester County New York Historical Facts

Parent County

1683 Westchester County (with what later became the Bronx) was created as an original county from the North Riding of Yorkshire in the Province of New York, earlier part of New Netherland.[1] [2] [3]

Neighboring Counties

Bronx · Nassau · New York (Manhattan) · Orange · Putnam · Queens · Rockland · Suffolk · Connecticut county: Fairfield · New Jersey county: Bergen[4]
Mount VernonNew RochellePeekskillRyeWhite PlainsYonkersPelhamEastchesterMamaroneckRyeScarsdaleGreenburghHarrisonCortlandtYorktownSomersNorth SalemLewisboroPound RidgeBedfordNorth CastleMount KiscoRyeNew CastleOssiningMount PleasantBergen CountyBronx CountyNassau CountyFairfield CountyPutnam CountyRockland CountySuffolk CountyOrange CountyLong Island SoundNYWestchesterCoTwnshps.png


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New York County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New York County Boundary Maps" (1683-1915) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1664 Yorkshire became the first large government unit (not actually a county) organized by New York after the English took control from the Netherlands. It was divided into three ridings including North Riding (Westchester (including the Bronx), New York (Manhattan), Nassau and part of Queens counties).[2] [3]
1683 New York ended Yorkshire, creating Westchester County including the Bronx from part of Yorkshire.[2] [3]

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in New York Counties see: New York Counties with Burned Courthouses

Westchester County New York Genealogy Resources

Bible Records

  • 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories
Findagrave.com* Family History Library* Findagrave.com*
Interment.net* WorldCat* Tombstone Transcription Project*
Cemetery Site*   NYGenWeb Cemeteries*
New York Gravestones*   epodunk*
NYGenWeb Cemeteries*   Billion Graves*
Billion Graves*   Names in Stone*
Names in Stone*    
Linkpendium*    
Ancestry*    
   *See the New York Cemeteries page for details about each site.

In 2011, The Cemeteries of Westchester County by Patrick J. Raftery was published by The Westchester County Historical Society.

Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

  • 1698 - Randolph, Howard S.F. "The Census of 1698 for Mamaroneck, Morrisania, and New Rochelle, Westchester County, New York," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 59, No. 2 (Apr. 1928):103-107. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 59.
  • 1776-1784 - Sypher, F.J. "Rent Roll of Col. Frederick Philips's Estate (Philipse Manor) 1776-1784," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 108, No. 2 (Apr. 1977):74-78. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 108.
Federal

U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:

  • Available online at Ancestry ($).
  • Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[5]
  • Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
  • Also on FHL Films 1415128–42 which can be ordered through any Family History Center.
  • The 1890 Census is lost. For a substitute, see directories.  However, one page does exist for a family in the town of Eastchester.
State
Source 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Ancestry.com (subscription required) - - - - - - - - Yes Yes
Family History Library Films - - - - - - - Yes Yes Yes
FamilySearch Images - - - - - - - Yes Yes Yes
New York State Library Films - - - - - - - Yes Yes Yes

Church Records

Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level.  Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.

For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.

Records of the Dutch Reformed Church at Cortlandt begin in 1741. Quaker marriages at Harrison begin in 1742.

  • 1660-1889 - FamilySearch Books Online The Presbyterian Church Within the Field of the Presbytery of Westchester, Synod of New York, 1660-1889].
  • 1879-1930 Central Methodist Episcopal Church, Pleasantville. FHL film 2031629 Item 3,8; 2031630 Items 2 - 3. Church record, 1879-1883 Members Marriages 1890-1929 Baptisms 1890-1925; 1907-1929 Minutes, Earnest Workers Society, ca. 1921-1930; Minutes of the Official Board, 1924-1930.
  • 1891-1948 First Methodist Episcopal Church (Pleasantville, FHL film 2031629 Item 4. Pastors, membership records 1901-1942 Marriages 1942, 1902-1941 Baptisms 1902-1945. The film following contains several items with minutes and other business-type records from this church.
  • 1724-1908 - Eardeley, William Applebie. Amawalk, Westchester County, New York, Friends Monthly Meeting Records: Births, Marriages and Deaths, 1724-1908. Brooklyn, N.Y., 1914. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1752-1823 - "Records of the Church of Christ in Salem, Westchester Co., N.Y.: The First Church in the Town, With Some Places Adjacent," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Membership Lists 1750s-early 1800s, Marriages 1752-1771: Vol. 31, No. 2 (Apr. 1900):82-89; Marriages 1771-1781: Vol. 31, No. 3 (Jul. 1900):174-177; Marriages 1781-1795: Vol. 31, No. 4 (Oct. 1900):238-242; Marriages 1795-1806, Baptisms 1752-1759: Vol. 32, No. 1 (Jan. 1901):12-16; Baptisms 1759-1769: Vol. 32, No. 2 (Apr. 1901):71-76; Baptisms 1769-1778: Vol. 32, No. 3 (Jul. 1901):164-168; Baptisms 1778-1789: Vol. 32, No. 4 (Oct. 1901):241-244; Baptisms 1789-1804, Deaths 1767-1776: Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan. 1902):38-42; Deaths 1776-1804: Vol. 33, No. 2 (Apr. 1902):113-118; Dismissals and Membership Lists early 1800s: Vol. 33, No. 3 (Jul. 1902):161-164; Dismissals 1810s, Baptisms 1805-1809: Vol. 33, No. 4 (Oct. 1902):208-211; Baptisms 1809-1820, Marriages 1805: Vol. 34, No. 1 (Jan. 1903):50; Marriages 1805-1811: Vol. 34, No. 2 (Apr. 1903):89-93; Marriages 1811-1821: Vol. 34, No. 3 (Jul. 1903):221-223; Marriages 1820-1822, Deaths 1804-1812: Vol. 34, No. 4 (Oct. 1903):295-298; Deaths 1812-1823, Dismissals and Session Proceedings early 1800s: Vol. 35, No. 1 (Jan. 1904):20-24; Session Proceedings early 1800s: Vol. 35, No. 2 (Apr. 1904):136-137. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 31-35. Internet Archive has digitized Vol. 32, Vol. 34, and Vol. 35, but not Vol. 31 or Vol. 33 - free.[6]
  • Bolton, Robert. History of the Protestant Episcopal Church, in the County of Westchester, from Its Foundation, 1693, to 1853. New York: Stanford and Swords, 1855. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.

Additional Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Westchester County, New York Church Records  in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records

Many court records are available at the Westchester County Archives which is open to the public two days a week.

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

  • French, J. H. Gazetteer of the State of New York. 2 vols. [Syracuse, NY: R. Pearsall Smith, c. 1860]

Genealogy

  • Rootsweb message board for Westchester County, New York has many information threads about families that resided in that county. There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.

History

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Westchester County, New York

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.

Original land records in Westchester County, New York began in [?dateyear?]. These records are housed at the [?repository?] in [?town?].

Online

Microforms

Books

  • 1720s-1810s - Lustenberger, Anita A. "Unrecorded Deeds, Westchester County," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 139, No. 4 (Oct. 2008):283-284. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 139.
  • 1778-1783 - Lustenberger, Anita A. "Tenants of Commissioners of Sequestration in Westchester County 1778-1783," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 123, No. 4 (Oct. 1992):203-206; Vol. 124, No. 1 (Jan. 1993):30-33. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 123-124.

Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:

  • 1600s-1700s - Bristol, Theresa Hall. "Genealogical Gleanings from Land and Probate Records at White Plains and Rye, New York," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 49, No. 2 (Apr. 1918):170-176; Vol. 49, No. 3 (Jul. 1918):292-303; Vol. 49, No. 4 (Oct. 1918):381-389. Digital versions at Internet Archive - free; New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n. Includes map of early landowners.

Additional resources

Additional resources for Westchester County, New York land records may be found in the Westchester County, New York – Land Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Nywestchester.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Westchester County for European settlers included:[7]

  • the Atlantic Ocean
  • Long Island Sound
  • Hudson River with connections to:

Military

Revolutionary War

Westchester County men served in the 2nd New York Regiment.[8]

  • Scott, Kenneth. "Westchester County, N.Y., Loyalists, 1777," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 64 (1976):125-127. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 64 (1976).

Civil War

Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.

Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.

Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37) and can be ordered for viewing at your local Family History Center. They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).

Available towns. Registers are available for: Bedford · Pound Ridge.

Regiments. Service men in Westchester County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Westchester County:[9]

- 5th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 5th Regiment, New York Infantry (Duryee Zouaves), Companies F, G and H.
- 6th Regiment, New York Heavy Artillery, Companies A, B, D, E, F, I, K, L and M. (NYGenWeb)
- 7th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- 9th Regiment, New York Infantry (New)
- 11th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company A.
- 16th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Companies K, L and M.
- 17th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A, B and F.
- 25th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Companies I, L and M.
- 27th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company A.
- 32nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company H.
- 38th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies E and G.
- 48th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 49th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company C.
- 59th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 65th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 95th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies I and K.
- 135th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E,F, H, I, K and M.
- 146th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 164th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies G and I.
- 168th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company E.
- 176th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies D and G.
- 186th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 189th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K.
- 191st Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 192nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Indexes

The Family History Library has also acquired this comprehensive index for the years 1792 through 1906 on microfilm: FHL Film 1419807 (1st of 294 films). The courts this index covers are:

  • City Court of Brooklyn, 1836-1894
  • Kings County Court, 1806-1906
  • New York City Marine Court, 1806-1849
  • New York County Common Pleas Court, 1792-1895
  • New York County Superior Court, 1828-1895
  • New York City and County Supreme Court, 1868-1906
  • Queens County Court, 1799-1906
  • Queens County Surrogate Court, 1888-1898
  • Richmond County Court, 1869-1906
  • U.S. Circuit Court Southern District, 1846-1876
  • U.S. District Court Eastern District, (Kings, Queens, Nassau and Suffolk counties), 1865-1906
  • U.S. District Court Southern Court Southern District, (New York, Bronx and also Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Richmond, Rockland, Sullivan and Westchester counties), 1824-1906[10]

Newspapers

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Westchester newspapers online for free:

  • Ardsley NY Tribune 1897
  • Dobbs Ferry NY Register 1896-1970
  • Dobbs Ferry NY Greenburgh Register 1884-1894
  • Dobbs Ferry NY Sentinel 1926 -1969
  • Hastings NY on the Hudson Enterprise 1980-1988
  • Hastings NY On the Hudson Echo 1899-1925
  • Mount Kisco NY Recorder 1877-1891
  • Mount Vernon NY News 1896-1900
  • Mount Vernon NY Chronicle 1875-1898
  • New Rochelle NY Pioneer 1882-1919
  • Ossining NY Reminder Weekly News 1970-1975
  • Yonkers NY Herald Statesman 1922-1985

The Journal News covers Westchester county today in addition to other smaller, local newspapers.

Obituaries

For current obituaries, see The Journal News.

Periodicals

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Probate Records

Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the Westchester County, New York County Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content:  Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types:  Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.

Probate Petitions

In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. [11] [12]

These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the Westchester County Surrogate Court.
The petitions for Westchester County, New York are also available on microfilm at the Family History Library and its centers:

Online Probate Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1664-1784 - FamilySearch Books Online Early Wills of Westchester County, New York, from 1664 to 1784: A Careful Abstract of All Wills (Nearly 800) Recorded in New York Surrogate's Office and at White Plains, N.Y., from 1664-1784 Digital version at Ancestry ($).

1707 - "Westchester County Administrations 1707," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 124, No. 2 (Apr. 1993):90-91. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 124.

Probate Records on Microfilm

Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts

Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Westchester County, New York probate wills in online catalogs like:

Repositories

See also a List of New York Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Cornell University, Guide to Historical Resources in Westchester County, New York Repositories. ([Ithaca, New York]: New York Historical Resources Center, Olin Library, Cornell University, 1991). ExLibris digital copy - free; At various libraries; FHL Book 974.7277 A3w Includes index. Includes references to some family histories and genealogies.

Libraries, Archives, and Museums
Westchester County Historical Society Library[14]
2199 Saw Mill River Road
Elmsford, NY 10523
Phone: 914.592.4323
Fax: 914.231.4338
E-mail: info@westchesterhistory.com
Genealogy resources: cemetery listings, church records, censuses, newspapers, and more. The Historical Society's library is located in the County Archives. The Historical Society, along with the County Archives, maintains Westchester's Virtual Archives
Westchester County Archives[15]
2199 Saw Mill River Road
Elmsford, NY 10523
Phone: 914.231.1500
Fax: 914.231.1510
Established in 1985, the County Archives collects records created by the county government including deeds, census rolls, estate records, marriages certificates, naturalization records, Surrogate Court records, and Wills. The County Archives, along with the County Historical Society, maintains Westchester's Virtual Archives
Westchester Library System[16]
Mount Vernon Public Library
Central Library of Westchester
28 South First Avenue
Mount Vernon, NY
Phone: 914.668.1840
The Westchester Library System consists of more than forty libraries throughout Westchester County. The Mount Vernon Library (central library) has maps, newspapers, church and synagogue files, photographs, school yearbooks, city directories, and more. The Mount Vernon Library is also a partial depository for U.S. Federal documents.
County Historian's Office

Westchester County Historian
2199 Saw Mill River Road
Elmsford, NY 10523
Phone: 914–592-4323
Email: info@westchesterhistory.com

In 2006, Westchester County Historical Society (WCHS) was appointed County Historian by the Westchester County Board of Legislators.

Genealogical Resources: The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.

Courthouses

The Westchester County Clerk's office has probate, divorce and court records. The County Archives has probate, land and naturalization records as well as military discharge records and maps. For further information about where the records for Westchester County are held, see the Westchester County Courthouses page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FHC for Westchester County, New York is the Westchester New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Societies
Westchester County Historical Society[17]
2199 Saw Mill River Road
Elmsford, NY 10523
Phone: 914.592.4323
Fax: 914.231.4338
E-mail: info@westchesterhistory.com
Genealogy resources: cemetery listings, church records, censuses, newspapers, and more. The Historical Society's library is located in the County Archives. The Historical Society, along with the County Archives, maintains Westchester's Virtual Archives
Westchester County Genealogical Society[18]
PO Box 518
White Plains, NY 10603
The Westchester Genealogy Society maintains research materials at the Yorktown New York Family History Center

Social Groups Online

Taxation

  • 1699–1734 Tax assesment rolls New York Public Library; Family History Library's Film 484033. These rolls are a great finding aid to locate someone that was a city resident and finding the ward they belonged to; includes renters and owners. There is a break in the years from 1710 to 1720. The rolls from 1721 to 1734 include Queens, Richmond, and Westchester as well as New York City. [19]

Town Records

Town records in New York may include early births, marriages, deaths, divorces, local histories, selected military records, and town meeting minutes. For further details, try the links to individual town Wiki pages found in Places. See also:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). NEHGS online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists.


Vital Records

Vital records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. See also How to order New York Vital Records or order electronically online.

See the heading Places on this wiki page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. See New York Vital Records for a discussion about beginning dates and availability of vital records in New York.

Use substitute records for birth, marriage, and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.

Birth

Early births were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording births in 1881. Births were not recorded on the county level.

Birth Substitutes

  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
Marriage

Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. Marriages were recorded by the Westchester County clerk starting in 1908 and go until 1935.

  • 1867-1873 Farrell, Charles. "Marriages by a Justice of the Peace in Morrisania, 1867-1873," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 129, No. 3 (Jul. 1998):189-190. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 129.

Marriage Substitutes

  • 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groon, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
Divorce

Pre–1787

All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare.

1787–1847

All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery.

1847–present

All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records.

Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.

Death

Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.


Death Substitutes

  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information.
  • 1853-1881 Haacker, Frederick C. New Rochelle, New York Deaths, 1853-1881: Copied from the New Rochelle Press Almanacs, 1879-1882, and Records of Deaths in New Rochelle from Account Books of Cornelius Seacord, Coffin Maker. 1990. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Westchester County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Westchester– Vital Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Voting Registers

Westchester County New York Genealogy Websites

Westchester County New York Places

Westchester County New York Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 492. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Kathryn Ford Thorne, New York Atlas of Historical County Boundaries (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1993), 207-209. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 E7t.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Wikipedia contributors, "York Shire (Province of New York)" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_Shire_(Province_of_New_York) (accessed 7 January 2012).
  4. Handybook, 478.
  5. Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
  6. WeRelate contributors, "Source:New York Genealogical and Biographical Record (New York Genealogical and Biographical Society)," in WeRelate, http://www.werelate.org/wiki/Source:New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Record_%28New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Society%29, accessed 10 February 2012.
  7. Handybook, 847-61.
  8. "2nd New York Regiment," Valley Forge Legacy, http://valleyforgemusterroll.org/regiments/ny2.asp, accessed 31 May 2012.
  9. Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
  10. FamilySearch Catalog, FamilySearch, accessed 6 December 2011, http://www.familysearch.org.
  11. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  12. Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 57.
  13. About Abstracts of Wills, Admins. and Guardianships in NY State, 1787-1835 at New York Ancestors, accessed 8 December 2011, http://newyorkancestors.org/.
  14. Westchester County Historical Society at http://www.westchesterhistory.com/index.php/home/location (accessed 15 December 2011).
  15. Westchester County Archives at http://archives.westchestergov.com/ (accessed 15 December 2011).
  16. Westchester Library System at http://www.westchesterlibraries.org/ (accessed 15 December 2011).
  17. Westchester County Historical Society at http://www.westchesterhistory.com/index.php/home/location (accessed 15 December 2011).
  18. Westchester County Genealogical Society at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nywcgs/ (accessed 15 December 2011).
  19. Harry Macy Jr., “New York City Assessment Rolls 1699-1734”,The NYGB Newsletter 3(Fall 1996): 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.71 D25n v.7 Updated version at the New York Genealogical and Biographical Society on the Society’s Website. This is listed under “Research Aid Articles”.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:24.
  • This page has been accessed 53,050 times.