AfghanistanEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

AsiaGotoarrow.pngAfghanistan

Guide to Afghanistan ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)



Flag of Afghanistan.png

Contents

Getting started with Afghanistan research

Inauguration of President Hamid Karzai in December 2004.jpg


Afghanistan, officially the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, is a landlocked country that is located approximately in the center of Asia. Afghanistan is a crossroads between the East and the West, and has been an ancient focal point of trade and migration. It has an important geostrategical location, connecting South and Central Asia and Middle East.

For more general information on Afghanistan, see:


FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Afghanistan page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Afghan records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Afghanistan page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Learn how to get started with your Afghan research.

Jurisdictions

Administrative divisions

Afghanistan is administratively divided into thirty-four (34) provinces (welayats), and for each province there is a capital. Each province is then divided into many provincial districts, and each district normally covers a city or several townships.

The Governor of the province is appointed by the Ministry of Interior, and the Prefects for the districts of the province will be appointed by the provincial Governor. The Governor is the representative of the central government of Afghanistan, and is responsible for all administrative and formal issues. The provincial Chief of Police is appointed by the Ministry of Interior, who works together with the Governor on law enforcement for all the cities or districts of that province.

There is an exception in the capital city (Kabul) where the Mayor is selected by the President of Afghanistan, and is completely independent from the prefecture of the Kabul Province.

Research Tools

Featured Content

Afghanistan is a landlocked country in the center of Asia. It is variously designated as geographically located approximately in the center of Asia, South Asia, and the Middle East. It is bordered by Pakistan in the south and east, Iran in the south and west, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan in the north, and China in the far northeast. The name Afghanistan means the Land of Afghans. To read more about Afghanistan see Wikipedia.

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Afghanistan

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here |}


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 01:07.
  • This page has been accessed 7,141 times.