Albany County, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki


United States Gotoarrow.png New York Gotoarrow.png Albany County

Guide to Albany County New York ancestry, family history, and genealogy. birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New York_Online_Genealogy_Records New York
Online Records

Contents

Coordinates: 42.65°0′N 73.78°0′W / 42.65°N 73.78°W / 42.65; -73.78
Albany County, New York
Map
Map of New York highlighting Albany County
Location in the state of New York
Map of the U.S. highlighting New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1683
County Seat Albany
Courthouse
Ny-albany-ch.jpg
Address Office of Albany County Clerk
32 N Russell Road
Albany, NY 12206-1324
Albany County Website
City of Albany, New York

Albany County New York Historical Facts

Parent County

Albany County was one of the original twelve counties created by the British Province of New York on 1 November 1683. [1]

Neighboring Counties

Columbia · Greene · Rensselaer · Saratoga · Schenectady · Schoharie [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New York County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New York County Boundary Maps" (1683-1915) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Albany County, New York
At the time of creation it included all of the present Bennington County, Vermont, all of New York state north of the counties of Dutchess and Ulster, and theoretically stretched west to the Pacific Ocean. [3]
NY Albany map.png
  • 27 May 1717: Albany County was adjusted to gain an indefinite amount of land from Dutchess County and other non-county lands.
  • 7 October 1763: King George III, King of England, as part of his proclamation, created new province of Quebec, implicity setting the northern limit of New York at the parallel of 45 degrees north latitude, from Atlantic-St.Lawrence watershed westward to the St. Lawrence River, but it was never mapped.
  • 20 July 1764: King George III established the boundary between New Hampshire and New York along the west bank of the Connecticut River, north of Massachusetts and south of the 45th parallel. Albany County implicitly gained present-day Vermont. Disputes broke out later and the dissatified colonists organized in opposition which led to the creation of Republic of Vermont in 1777 (lasted until Vermont joined in the American Revolutionary War.)
  • 13 July 1766: Cumberland County was partitioned from Albany County, covering all northern and eastern limits of the county, including what is now Windsor County, most of Windham County and parts of Bennington and Rutland counties in Vermont.
  • 26 June 1767: Albany County regained all of Cumberland County.
  • 19 March 1768: the county was repartitioned and Cumberland County restored.
  • 16 March 1770: the county was partitioned again to create Gloucester County (which includes all of present-day Orange, Caledonia and Essex counties, most of Washington County, parts of Orleans, Lamoille, Addison and Chittenden counties in Vermont.
  • 12 March 1772: Albany County was partitioned again, into Albany, Tryon (now Montgomery) and Charlotte (now Washington) counties.
  • 24 March 1772: a partition of 50 sq miles was handed over to Cumberland County.
  • 9 March 1774: Ulster County was set off from Albany County.
  • 1 April 1775: a partition of 60 sq miles was handed over to Charlotte County who then exchanged a like parcel with Cumberland County.
  • 15 January 1777: 300 square miles was lost to the Republic of Vermont.
  • 26 January 1781: Bennington County, Vermont attempted to annex a portion of Albany County (today's portions of Washington and Rensselaer counties) to form "The West Union." The Confederation (before there was the US Constitution) arbitrated this annexation, and condemned it, with Vermont ceasing the attempts on 23 February 1783.
  • 4 Apr 1786: Columbia County was set off.
  • 7 March 1788: New York refusing to recognize the independence of Vermont, with Cumberland County eliminated, tried to adjust the line that separated Cumberland County from Albany in present-day Vermont, but to no effect.
  • 7 February 1791: Rensselaer and Saratoga counties were set off. On the same day, town of Cambridge was transferred to Washington County.
  • 1 January 1795: Schoharie County was set off.
  • 5 April 1798: Ulster County took 90 sq miles to add to it.
  • 25 March 1800: Greene County set off.
  • 3 March 1808: Havre Island turned over to Saratoga County with no net loss of land.
  • 7 March 1809: Schenectady County set off. From this day Albany County exists in its present shape.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in New York Counties see: New York Counties with Burned Courthouses

Fire.png
March 1911: Albany, NY fire destroyed the State Capitol Building including part of the State Library. Losses included twenty-three manuscript folio volumes of the famous official records of the governors of the city of New Amsterdam, covering a period from 1630 to 1674, the correspondence of Governor George Clinton, 5,000 pieces in all, and the original letters of Sir William Johnson, and Governor Daniel D. Tompkins.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Genealogy Resources

Bible Records

  • 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.
  • Miller, George Douglas. "Albany and New York Families: Genealogies from Old Dutch Bibles," The New England Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 51 (1897):334-344; Vol. 53 (1899):118-120. Digitized by Internet Archive - free.[5] Beeckman, De Peyster, Douw, Hansen family Bibles.

Biography

  • George Rogers Howell, Jonathan Tenny, and John H. Munsell, History of the County of Albany, N.Y., from 1609-1886: with Portraits, Biographies and Illustrations, Bi-centennial History of Albany (Microreproduction of original published: New York: W. W. Munsell, 1886).
Vol. 1 Google Books digital copy.
Vol. 2 Google Books digital copy.
Vol. 3 At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Film 1000231.
Vol. 4 Google Books digital copy.

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories
Findagrave.com* Family History Library* Findagrave.com*
Interment.net* WorldCat* Tombstone Transcription Project*
Cemetery Site*   NYGenWeb Cemeteries*
New York Gravestones*   Catholic Diocesan cemeteries*
NYGenWeb Cemeteries*   Billion Graves*
Billion Graves*   Names in Stone*
Names in Stone*   epodunk
Linkpendium*    
Ancestry*    
   *See the New York Cemeteries page for details about each site.


-1900-2002 Jewish People's Cemetery
-1850- 2001 Temple Israel, Sons of Abraham, Ohav Sholom Cemetery
-1894-2002

Individual cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

  • The 1890 Census is lost. For a substitute, see Directories.
Federal Censuses

U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:

  • Available online at Ancestry ($).
  • Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[6]
  • Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
  • Also on FHL Films 1415128–42 which can be ordered through any Family History Center.

Dr. Davenport discovered that a page from the 1850 Census of the City of Albany was missed by NARA microfilmers:

  • 1850 - Davenport, David Paul. "City of Albany, New York Missing Page from Microfilm Copy of the 1850 Census," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 117, No. 3 (Jul. 1986):162. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 117.
Colonial or State Censuses
Source 1720 1790 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Ancestry.com - Yes Yes - Yes Yes - Yes & Yes Yes
Family History Library - - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
FamilySearch Historical Records - - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
New York State Library - - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
RootsWeb Yes - - - - - - - -

New York State 1865 and 1875 Census Marriage, Mortality; and 1865 Soldier Mortality records:

  • Images available online at New York State Census, 1865 and New York State Census, 1875. Click on the link to go to the page, then click on the ‘Browse through images’ link and select your county, then select an ancestor's town and browse to the end of the population schedule until you find the Marriage, Mortality, and 1865 soldier mortality schedules.
  • Includes marriages and deaths for the 12 months prior to the census, ending 1 June of the census year.
  • Marriage entry content: Husband's name, wife's name, ages and previous marital status, month and day and place of marriage, and church or civil ceremony.
  • Death entry content: Name, age, sex, color, marital status, month and day of death, native state or country, occupation and cause of death.
  • 1865 deaths of officers and enlisted men entry content: Name, age, marital status, citizenship status, enlistment date, original regiment, original rank, regiment at death, rank at death, promotions, death date and place, manner of death, surviving associates, and burial place.
  • Also on microfilm. See the Family History Library line in the above State Census Chart. These can be ordered through any Family History Center.

Church Records

Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level.  Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.

For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.

General

  • Diane Snyder Ptak, Lost and found, Albany (NY) Area Church and Synagogue Vital Records, 1654-1925 (Albany, N.Y.: D.S. Ptak, 1993). At various libraries(WorldCat). FHL book 974.74 V23p. Church and synagogue record inventory for Albany and Rensselaer counties arranged by denomination and county. Lists houses of worship, contact information, record types, years covered, and sources.
  • Albany County (New York), County Clerk, Church Patents with Index (Microreproduction of manuscript at the County Courthouse, Albany, N.Y., 1968). FHL Film 463365. State legal certifications 1784-1880 naming some of each denomination's leaders at their founding.

Baptist

  • Emmanuel Baptist Church of Albany: 100th Anniversary. 1934?. Ancestry.com ($)
  • A Catalogue of the Officers and Members of the Pearl Street Baptist Church of the City of Albany, March 1, 1866. Ancestry.com ($); Betty Fink (free).
  • The True Glory of Zion: An Historical Discourse Reviewing Thirty-five Years of Work and Worship in the Meeting House Formerly Standing at the Corner of State and High Streets, Albany, N.Y. Ancestry.com ($)

Catholic

Ann Mensch's Local Catholic Church and Family History & Genealogical Research Guide is a free online resource that identifies the parishes of Albany County, years parishes were created, contact information, as well as links to online records and research tips. Albany County parishes fall under the jurisdiction of the Diocese of Albany.

  • Sevier, Christine. History of the Albany Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, 1852-1927. Albany: Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, 1927. Ancestry.com ($)
  • 1797, A Historical Sketch (Illustrated) St. Mary's Parish, Albany, N.Y. and Souvenir of Its Centennial Celebration: Friday, Saturday and Sunday, November 5th, 6th and 7th, 1897. Ancestry.com ($)
  • St. John the Baptist, Green and Westerlo Sts., Albany, N.Y. Ancestry.com ($)

Dutch Reformed

For further information about the Dutch settlers of Albany County, visit Albany NY Dutch Sources.

Episcopal

Evangelical

  • Year Book and Church Directory: Calvary Evangelical Church. 1930. Ancestry.com ($)

Lutheran

Presbyterian

Society of Friends (Quakers)

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records has church records on microfilm in their Historical Records for towns and cities in Albany County 1683–1932 for the following churches:

  • Albany First Lutheran 1794-1932
  • Albany First Presbyterian 1785-1841
  • Albany Methodist 1806-1884
  • Albany Saint Peter's Episcopal 1756-1883
  • Albany Second Presbyterian 1815-1870
  • Albany State Street Presbyterian 1859-1883
  • Berne Lutheran 1790-1875
  • Berne Reformed Dutch 1763-1877
  • Bethlehem First Reformed 1794-1924
  • Coeymans Reformed Protestant Dutch 1846-1877
  • Delmar Reformed 1848-1899
  • Guilderland Center Dutch Reformed 1794-1925
  • Jerusalem Reformed 1842-1890
  • Knowerville Lutheran 1785-1868
  • New Salem Dutch Reformed 1786-1899
  • Reformed Dutch of Albany 1683-1809
  • Unionville Dutch Reformed 1825-1932
  • West Sand Lake Lutheran 1785-1868
  • Wynantskill Reformed 1794-1889

For details on these church records see the town or city wiki page.

Additional Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Albany County, New York Church Records  in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.Original court records for Albany County are held in the office of the County Clerk.[7] See New York Court Records for more information about using court records.

Copies of Original Records

Abstracts

Crime and Criminals

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records (ACHOR)has County Sheriff/Jail records from 1825 to 1967 in their Historical Records. These records include Criminal Records books; inmate booking ledger; inmate commitment books; and registers of inmates, prisoners, and female prisoners. The ACHOR also has Albany Police department's History of Arrests from 1865 to 1940 on microfilm.

Directories

  • 1902–1903 Albany County Officials Illustrated Directory, 1902-1903 FHL fiche 6062152
  • 1912 Directory of the Cities of Albany and Rensselaer: General Directory of the Citizens, Business Directory(Albany, N.Y.: Sampson & Murdock Co., 1912.) FHL film 1425518 Item 5

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Jacob I. Hotchkiss, The Diverse Backgrounds of Old Albany: a Concise History of Nationality Groups from Albany's Beginnings to the Time of the Erie Canal (Albany, N.Y.: The Institute, 1964). HeritageQuest (LAR); At various libraries(WorldCat); FHL fiche 6072082.

Gazetteers

1870-71 Hamilton Child, Gazetteer and Business Directory of Albany and Schenectady Co., N. Y. for 1870-71 (Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms International - Books on Demand, 1989). At various libraries(WorldCat): FHL fiche 6072149.

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.

Original land records in Albany County, New York began in 1630. They are housed at the Albany County Hall of Records in Albany.[8]

Online

Microfilms

Books

Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:

Maps

1890: Changes in names of streets in Albany. Courtesy NYGenWeb.

Migration

Albany Post Road map.png
NY MA CT.png
Migration routes for early European settlers to and from Albany County, New York included:[9]

Military

Revolutionary War

Albany County men served in the 1st New York Regiment.[29]

Civil War

Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.

Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.

Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37) and can be ordered for viewing at your local Family History Center. They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).

Available towns. Registers are available for: Albany, Berne, Bethlehem, Coeymans, Knox, New Scotland, Rensselaerville, and Westerlo.

Regiments. Service men in Albany County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed companies formed in Albany County: [30]

- 1st Battalion, New York Light Artillery, Battery M.
- 1st Battalion, New York Sharpshooters, 9th Company.
- 2nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company H.
- 3rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 6th Independent Battery, New York Light Artillery, Company E.
- 6th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Companies A and E.
- 7th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company E.
- 7th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- 9th Regiment, New York Cavalry , Company F.
- 9th Regiment, New York Infantry (New)
- 12th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company B.
- 13th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Companies G H and I.
- 16th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company F.
- 17th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- 18th Regiment, New York Infantry  Companies B, C, F, G, H, I, L and M.
- 20th Regiment, New York Infantry Companies D, G, K and M.
- 21st Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company F.
- 22nd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 30th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 34th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 43rd Regiment, New York Infantry Companies A, B and D.
- 44th Regiment, New York Infantry, two companies.
- 61st Regiment, New York Infantry, 2nd Company I.
- 62nd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 63rd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K.
- 65th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 91st Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, H, and I.
- 93rd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 104th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K.
- 113th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 138th Regiment, New York Infantry Company L.
- 148th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 175th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A, B and C.
- 177th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 179th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 184th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 186th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 188th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 189th Regiment, New York Infantry , Company B.
- 192nd Regiment, New York Infantry  Companies A, B, C, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 194th Regiment, New York Infantry
  • Robert Keating, Carnival of Blood : the Civil War Ordeal of the Seventh New York Heavy Artillery (Baltimore, Maryland: Butternut and Blue, 1998). At other Libraries(WorldCat); FHL book 974.7 M2k History of the 7th New York Heavy Artillery from the time of its formation to disbanding in the summer of 1865. Contains a regimental roster which may list name, age, occupation, date of enlistment, status, date of death or discharge, wounds if any, and where buried if died during the war.
  • Rufus W. Clark, The Heroes of Albany : a Memorial of the Patriot-Martyrs of the City of Albany, Who Sacrificed their Lives During the Late War in Defence of Our Nation, 1861-1865, with a View of What was Done in the County to Sustain the United States Government, and also Brief Histories of the Albany Regiments (Albany, New York: S.R. Gray, 1867). At other Libraries(WorldCat); FHL book 974.742 D3w and (Bethesda, Maryland : University Publications of America, c1992 FHL Fiche 6083492

Naturalization and Citizenship

Original naturalization records for Albany County are held in the Hall of Records.  See New York Naturalization and Citizenship for more information.

  • Albany County Clerk's Office, Naturalization Indexes online 1821-1991 used to find citizenship records with place of residence and place of origin.
  • Naturalizations after 1991 are located:
    Office of Immigration and Naturalization
    U.S. Post Office and Federal Court House Room 220
    Albany, NY 12207
  • 1895–1906 Naturalization records(includes index, declarations, oaths and orders, and petitions) FHL film 1304706 (first of 8 films)

Newspapers

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Albany County, New York newspaper images:

  • Albany NY Evening Journal 1830-1936

Obituaries

Rootsweb has an ongoing resource of indexing obituaries of individuals born in Albany, New York. Maiden names are included if known.

Periodicals

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records has county Almshouse Records from 1870 to 1947 on microfilm in their Historical Records. These records include deaths, widow and orphan benefits, register of state poor, and interments.

Probate Records

Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the Albany County, New York County Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content:  Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types:  Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.

Probate Petitions

In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. [31] [32]

These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the Albany County Surrogate Court.

Original estates and wills for Albany County are held in the Surrogate Court. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

Online Probate Indexes


Online Probate Records

Original county-by-county New York, Probate Records, 1629-1971 are available free online at FamilySearch. To access these records, click Historical Records below, then click "Browse through 1,630,900 images". Then select the county name, and then the probate records and time of interest.

  • Historical Records - Albany County: Administration and Inventory index, 1776-1825; Administration card index, 1700-1775; Administration index, 1894-1959; Administration orders, 1868-1901; Administrations, 1700-1775, A-Z; Administrations, Inventories, 1776-1825, A-Z; Inventories, 1600-1700's; Inventory card index, 1600's-1700's; Letters of administration, 1794-1902; Letters testamentary, 1856-1900; Probate records, 1868-1900; Wills and Administration index, 1787-1959; Wills, 1629-1901

Probate Records on Microfilm

The probate records described above also may be among those on microfilm including:

  • 1600s–1700s, 1700–1825 Original records of administrations of estates, inventories and accounts. FHL film 504477 (22 films)
  • 1629–1828 Index to Record of wills recorded at Albany, New York FHL film 481435 Item 2
  • 1629–1802 Record of wills recorded at Albany, New York FHL film 481436 (12 films)
    Most of the original wills were filed in what is now New York County prior to 1787 and recorded in that county's will books. The selections were retained and kept at Queens College in Flushing before transferred to state archives and filmed.
    See SAMPUBCO for the browsable index to this set of films.
  • 1691–1835 Wills FHL film 463364
  • 1787–1796 Albany probate records FHL film 17515 Item 1
  • 1787–1902 Wills, letters testamentary, letters of administration, orders and index FHL film 467999 (82 films)
    See SAMPUBCO for the browsable index to this set of films covering wills.
  • 1799–1848 Wills proved and recorded FHL film 481434 and 481435 Item 1

Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts

Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Albany County, New York probate wills in online catalogs like:

Repositories

See also a List of New York Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries, and Museums

Albany Public Library
Main Library
161 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: 518-427-4300
Call for hours. Albany History Room hours differ from regular library hours. Pruyn Collection of Albany History housed in the Albany History Room of the library. Collection includes city directories, newspapers, and census records on film and online.

Guilderland Public Library
2228 Western Avenue
Guilderland, New York 12084-9071
Phone: 518-456–2400
Collection includes online databases with surname search, church index, cemetery list and transcriptions and land search.

Nassau Free Library–Genealogy
18 Church Street
Nassau, NY 12123.
Phone: 518-766-2715
Ralph Philllips Genealogical Collection. Online database of surnames.

New York State Museum/People of Albany County Live Here
Online collection of articles and pages about Albany County. Includes biographies of early residents, early laws, military records, county census transcriptions, church records, maps, and will transcriptions.

New York State Archives
Cultural Education Center
222 Madison Avenue
Albany, NY 12230
Phone: 518-474-8955
archref@mail.nysed.gov

New York State Library–Genealogy
Cultural Education Center
222 Madison Avenue
Albany, NY 12230
518-74-5161
Local History/Genealogy desk Collection includes local histories, New Netherland Project[34], DAR records, church records, early newspapers, city directories, surname card files, and vital records.

  • Melinda Yates, Gateway to America: genealogical research in the New York State Library, 2nd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: University of the state of New York, State Education Dept., New York State Library, 1982). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D23y.
  • New York State Library card catalog file of vital records in the History and Genealogy section ([Albany, New York : New York State Library, Photoduplication Department, 1979?]). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Fiche 6332544. Microfiche of hand and typewritten cards.
  • New York State Library (Albany, New York), Surname card index ([Albany, New York: New York State Library, Photoduplication Unit, 1979?]). FHL Fiche 6331486. Surname catalog of the American History and Genealogy section of the New York State Library.

Rensselaer, New York City History Research Center
Rensselaer City Hall
62 Washington St.
Rensselaer, NY 12144 second floor.
Phone: 518-694-3126
Collection includes city and county histories, directories, newspapers, local family manuscripts, church records, and local society and business records.

Troy Public Library
100 Second Street
Troy, NY 12180
Phone: 518-274–7071
The Troy Room Collection contains hundreds of books, pamphlets, and other local history and genealogy documents. Works by local authors, Troy City Directories, local newspapers, family histories, and census records are all part of this valuable collection.

Upper Hudson Library System consists of 29 public libraries in the counties of Albany and Rensselaer counties. Each library has access to genealogical databases - especially newspaper sites. Many databases are accessible with your library card from home. A list of the libraries in this system and their website and contact information is found here.

Hudson River Valley Institute[35]
Marist College
3399 North Road
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-1387
E-mail: hrvi@marist.edu
Phone: 845-575-3052
The Institute is the academic arm of the Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area. Its mission is to study and to promote the Hudson River Valley and to provide educational resources for heritage tourists and the general public. The Digital Library contains a collection of heritage sites, documents, organizations, and related links to guide you through the Hudson River Valley.

County Historian's Office

Albany County Historian[36]
Albany County Office Building
112 State Street, Room 800
Albany, NY 12207
E-mail: JTRAVIS@AlbanyCounty.com
Phone: 518-447-5516

The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.

Courthouses

Most historical records for Albany County are at the Hall of Records. For further information about where the records for Albany County are held, see the Albany County Courthouses page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FHC for Albany County, New York is the Albany New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Societies

Albany County Historical Association[37]
9 Ten Broeck Pl.
Albany, NY 12210-2524
Phone: 518-436-9826 ‎

Dutch Settlers Society of Albany[38]
608 28th Street
Watervliet, NY 12189
E-mail: cheryleM29@aol.com

Yearbooks, newsletters, tulip festivals, parades, calendar, links to New Netherland research sites.

Rensselaer County Historical Society Library
57 Second Street
Troy, NY 12180
Phone: 518-244-6846

Library, archives and research center.

Capital District Genealogical Society[39]
Empire State Plaza Station
PO Box 2175
Albany, NY 12220-0175

Counties served: Albany, Columbia, Fulton, Greene, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, and Washington.
$3 for non-member queries in their newsletter. Monthly meetings. They staff a genealogy support desk at the Town of Colonie Library.

Central New York Genealogical Society[40]
Box 104, Calvin Station
Syracuse, New York 13205
E-mail: CNYSG@yahoo.com

Member queries; surname research list; online resources; six meetings/year; publication: Tree Talks (At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 B2t) quarterly with annual index.
Counties served: Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Oreleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Washington, Wayne, Warren, Wyoming, and Yates.

American Italian Heritage Association[41]
1227 Central Ave.
Albany, New York 12205
Phone: 518-435-1979

Museum including immigration room, newsletter, and events calendar.

Shaker Heritage Society of Albany, New York[42]
Directions and Hours

Teaching resources and programs, blog, craft fairs, and concerts on the grounds.

Underground Railroad Workshop
PO Box 10851
Albany, New York 12201
Phone: 518-432-4432

Research into local underground railroad and abolitionist history and personalities.

Historical Society for the Preservation of the Underground Railroad
PO Box 8436
Albany. NY 12208
Phone: 518-458-7888

Jewish Genealogical Society of the Capital District[43]
P.O. Box 5002
Albany, NY 12205-0002
Phone 518-482-5295 or 800-626-8235

Repository Guidebooks. Guides to Albany County records and repositories include:

  • Historical Records (.pdf) a complete eight-page inventory of the Albany County Hall of Records showing 55 record types, years covered, descriptions, and department or towns involved.
  • Cornell University,Guide to Historical Resources in Albany County, New York, Repositories (Ithaca, New York: New York Historical Resources Center, Olin Library, Cornell University, 1985). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.742 A3g.
  • New York State Archives, Guide to Records in the New York State Archives (Albany, New York: New York State Archives, 1993). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 A3ns 1993.
  • Historical Records Survey and Works Progress Administration, Inventory of the County Archives of New York, no. 01, Albany County (Albany) (Albany, New York: Historical Records Survey, 1937). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.742 A3h. Includes index.
  • Alexander J. Wall and Horatio Seymour, A Sketch of the Life of Horatio Seymour, 1810-1886, with a Detailed Account of his Administration as Governor of the State of New York During the War of 1861-1865 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1978) Digital Version at Hathi Trust Digital Library; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1018900 Item 7. Includes a coat of arms, and Horatio, ancestry. "List of the [published] addresses, speeches and writings of Horatio Seymour": p. 87-111 (all items listed to be found in ". . . the Seymour scrapbooks in the New York State Library at Albany, N.Y.").
  • Tracy B. Grimm, World Our Fathers Made: a Survey of the Records of Local Governments in the County of Albany, New York, During the Constitutional Era, 1783-1815 (Albany, New York: Albany County Hall of Records, [1988?]) At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.742 A3gt.

Social Groups Online

Taxation

  • 1708-1709 Piwonka, Ruth. "Tax Lyste van d Stadt en County van Albany 1708/9 (Tax List of the City and County of Albany)," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol.

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Recordshas Tax Rolls for Albany County from 1813 to 1990 in their Historical Records for the following Municipalities: Albany (1813-1990), Berne, Bethlehem, Coeymans, Cohoes, Colonie, Knox, Green Island, Guilderland, New Scotland, Rensselaerville, Watervliet and Westerlo. See the town or city wiki page for details.

Town Records

Town records in New York may include early births, marriages, deaths, divorces, local histories, selected military records, and town meeting minutes. For further details, try the links to individual town Wiki pages found in Places. See also:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). NEHGS online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists.


Vital Records

Vital Records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. The actual document was then forwarded to the Department of Health in Albany city. See also How to order New York Vital Records or order electronically online.

If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. For a list of towns for this county see Places on this page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. These clerks are generally faster than the Department of Health in providing the copies of certificates. For instance, if you knew your ancestor died in the Rensselaerville, Albany, New York, in 1862, contacting the town clerk there would be helpful to see if they have records in their ledger book for that time period.

Albany births and deaths 1848, births 1866 to present, and deaths 1870 to the present can be obtained for a fee from: Registrar of Vital Statistics. There is a fifty year restriction on death and marriage records, and a seventy-five year restriction on birth records. There is the additional restriction that you prove all parties are dead to obtain a birth or marriage record. The year restrictions are waived for a direct line descendant.Some marriage records may be kept at the Albany County hall of Records from 1870-1946.

See New York Vital Records for more information about Vital records in New York.

Birth

Birth Substitutes

Albany New York infant.jpg
  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
Marriage

Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. Marriages were recorded by the Albany County, New York clerk starting in 1870 and go until 1946.[44]

Marriage Substitutes

  • 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groon, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
  • 1804–1850 Fred Q. Bowman, 8000 More Vital Records of Eastern New York State, 1804-1850 (Rhinebeck, New York: Kinship Books, 1991). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.7 V2bfqa. Abstracts of newspaper marriage and death columns.
  • 1864-5, 1874-5 See Marriage Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for marriage information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
Divorce

Pre–1787

All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare.

1787–1847

All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery.

1847–present

All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records.

Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.

Death

Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.

Death Substitutes

  • 1804–1850 Fred Q. Bowman, 8000 More Vital Records of Eastern New York State, 1804-1850 (Rhinebeck, New York: Kinship Books, 1991). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.7 V2bfqa. Abstracts of newspaper marriage and death columns.
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information.
  • 1864-5, 1874-5 See Mortality Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for death information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Albany County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Albany– Vital Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

For information about town vital statistics (including births and deaths) contact the the city, town or village clerk.

City of Albany

City Vital Statistics
City Hall, Room 254M
Albany, New York 12207
Phone: 518-434-5045
Birth, marriage and death records

Town and village information

Altamont (village) (518) 861-8554
Berne (518) 872-1448
Bethlehem (518) 439-4955
Coeymans (518) 756-2100
Cohoes (City) (518) 237-7648
Colonie (518) 783-2734
Colonie (village) (518) 869-7562
Green Island (518) 273-0661
Green Is. (village)(518) 273-2201
Guilderland (518) 356-1980
Knox (518) 872-2551
Menands (village) (518) 434-2922
New Scotland (518) 439-4865
Ravena (village) (518) 756-8233
Rensselaerville (518) 797-3798
Watervliet (city) (518) 270-3810
Westerlo (518) 797-3111

Voting Registers

For details about the "Election Records" 1807-1969 including enrollments and results from 23 communities, see the Albany County Hall of Records' Historical Records (.pdf).

Web Sites

Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook, 478.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Albany County, New York" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albany_County,_New_York (accessed 17 September 2011).
  4. Stu Beitler, "Albany, NY Fire Destroys State Capitol Building, Mar 1911" in GenDisasters.com at http://www3.gendisasters.com/new-york/4275/albany,-ny-fire-destroys-state-capitol-building,-mar-1911 (accessed 26 September 2011).
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "New England Historical Genealogical Register Online," in FamilySearch Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New_England_Historical_Genealogical_Register_Online, accessed 3 March 2012.
  6. Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
  7. Handybook, 488.
  8. Handybook, 488.
  9. Handybook, 847-61.
  10. Wikipedia contributors, "Old Albany Post Road" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Albany_Post_Road (accessed 23 June 2011).
  11. Frederic J. Wood, The Turnpikes of New England and the Evolution of the Same Through England, Virginia, and Maryland (Boston: Marshall Jones, 1919), map between 56 and 57, and 168. Internet Archive version online.
  12. Isaac Huntting, History of the Little Nine Partners of North East Precinct and Pine Plains, New York, Dutchess County (Amenia, NY: Chas. Walsh, 1897), 99-101. Google Book edition.
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 13.3 13.4 List of turnpikes in New York in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 6 November 2014).
  14. Ancram Turnpike in Routes in the Northeastern United States: Historic Trails, Roads and Migration Routes (accessed 6 November 2014). The Ancram Turnpike went from Springield, MA to Catskill, NY; and was called the Catskill Road.
  15. 15.0 15.1 Almira E Morgan, The Catskill Turnpike: A Wilderness Path (Ithaca, N.Y.: DeWitt Historical Society of Thompkins County, 1971), 5. Online digital copy.
  16. Catskill Turnpike in Routes in the Northeastern United States: Historic Trails, Roads and Migration Routes (accessed 6 November 2014). The Catskill Turnpike went west from Catskill, NY to Bath, NY; the east part was called the Susquehanna Turnpike.
  17. Huntting, 97-99.
  18. Anastassia Zinke, The Susquehanna Turnpike and America's Frontier History in Catskill Mountain Foundation (accessed 1 November 2014).
  19. Joan Odess, The Susquehanna Turnpike (pdf accessed 1 November 2014).
  20. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 186-88.
  21. Wood, map between 330 and 331, and 348-49.
  22. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 203-205.
  23. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 166-67.
  24. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 76-78.
  25. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 79-80.
  26. Handybook, 851.
  27. Fort Oswego in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 2 July 2011).
  28. Mohawk Trail in Routes in the Northeastern United States: Historic Trail, Roads, and Migration Routes in RootsWeb (accessed 6 October 2014).
  29. "1st New York Regiment," Valley Forge Legacy, http://valleyforgemusterroll.org/regiments/ny1.asp, accessed 31 May 2012.
  30. Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
  31. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  32. Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 57.
  33. About Abstracts of Wills, Admins. and Guardianships in NY State, 1787-1835 at New York Ancestors, accessed 8 December 2011, http://newyorkancestors.org/.
  34. Bentley, 368.
  35. Hudson River Valley Institute at http://www.hudsonrivervalley.org/ (accessed 14 November 2011).
  36. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md: Genealogical Publ., 2009), 369. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.
  37. "Ten Broek Mansion: Home of the Albany County Historical Association" at http://www.tenbroeckmansion.org/ (accessed 26 October 2011).
  38. Dutch Settlers Society of Albany at http://www.dutchsettlerssociety.org/ (accessed 4 November 2011), and Bentley, 369.
  39. Capital District Genealogical Society (Internet site) at http://www.capitaldistrictgenealogicalsociety.org/index.html (accessed 31 October 2011).
  40. Central New York Genealogical Society at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nycnygs/index.htm (accessed 1 November 2011).
  41. American Italian Heritage Association at http://www.aiha-albany.org/ (accessed 1 November 2011).
  42. Shaker Heritage Society of Albany, New York at http://shakerheritage.org/home/ (accessed 4 November 2011).
  43. "Jewish History Resources" in New York State Archives at http://www.archives.nysed.gov/a/research/res_topics_pgc_jewish_direct.shtml (accessed 4 November 2011).
  44. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488-493. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

Albany County New York Places


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 November 2014, at 20:56.
  • This page has been accessed 111,825 times.