Almer, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Almer

Guide to Almer, Dorset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Almer, Dorset
St Mary's Church Almer - geograph.org.uk - 426721.jpg
St Mary's Church Almer, Dorset
Type Civil parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loosebarrow
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Blandford PLU
Registration District Blandford
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset

Contents

Parish History

ALMER, a parish in Blandford district, Dorset; on an affluent of the Stour, 3½ miles S by W of Spettisbury r. station, and 7 W by S of Wimborne-Minster. It contains the hamlet of Mapperton,[1].

Not to be confused with the separate parish of Mapperton near Beaminster appox. 30 miles west of Almer.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Almer, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1538-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1919 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1538-1812 InternetArchive[6] 1538-1812 InternetArchive[6] 1538-1812 InternetArchive[6]
1538-1812 Ancestry[6] 1538-1812 Ancestry[6] 1538-1812 Ancestry[6]
1538-1812 FamilyHistoryBooks[6] 1538-1812 FamilyHistoryBooks[6] 1538-1812 FamilyHistoryBooks[6]
1538-1812 FamilySearch[7] 1538-1811 FamilySearch[8] 1539-1983 FindMyPast[9]
1539-1812 FreeREG[10] 1539-1812 FreeREG[10] 1539-1812 FreeREG[10]
1721-1837 FindMyPast[11] 1541-1836 FindMyPast[12] 1659-1982 FindMyPast[13]
1731-1879 OnlineParishClerks 1731-1837 OnlineParishClerks 1731-1879 OnlineParishClerks
Unclear FamilySearch[14] 1731-1836 Ancestry[15] Unclear FamilySearch[14]
1731-1836 Joiner[16]
1790-1811 Ancestry[17]
Unclear FamilySearch[14]


Almer, Dorset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[18]
Almer, Dorset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1539-1837
1539-1838
1539-1838

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 03 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 6.6 6.7 6.8 Edward Alexander Fry, The Registers of Almer, Co. Dorset, 1538-1812 (London:Privately Printed for the Parish Register Society, 1907).
  7. Batch P002981, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Dorset, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 May 2012.
  8. Batch M002981, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Dorset, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 May 2012.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 21 May 2012.
  11. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  12. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  13. 'Dorset Burial Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  14. 14.0 14.1 14.2 FamilySearch does not currently provide a coverage table for its database England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-1910.
  15. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  16. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 May 2012.
  17. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  18. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2014, at 19:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,565 times.