Andorra GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Andorra)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Andorra

Guide to Andorra ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Find us on

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community

Comprising only 181 square miles, Andorra sits in the heart of the Pyrenees between France and Spain. By the time the Moors conquered Spain, Andorra was Christian. Andorrans welcomed Charlemagne’s incursions against the Moors in the 8th century and who allegedly granted them independence. The Count of Foix (France) and the Bishop of Urgel (Spain) contested Andorran territory in the 13th century. In 1278 a peace treaty made them joint rulers. Andorra has a parliament established in 1419 though it is nominally a joint principality under France and Spain. In 1999, Andorra had 65,877 inhabitants, ethnically Catalan and, by religion, Roman Catholic. The official language is Catalan, but French and Spanish are widely spoken.[1]


Getting started with Andorra research

Andorra (Catalan: Andorra), officially The Principality of Andorra (Catalan: Principat d'Andorra) is a small landlocked country in western Europe, located in the eastern Pyrenees mountains and bordered by Spain and France. Once isolated, it is currently a prosperous country mainly because of tourism and its status as a tax haven. Read more…


  • Andorra la Vella Parish
  • Canillo Parish
  • Encamp Parish
  • Escaldes-Engordany Parish
  • La Massana Parish
  • Ordino Parish
  • Sant Julia de Loria Parish

 Research Tools

Useful websites:


  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Andorra,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1990-1999.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:50.
  • This page has been accessed 6,677 times.