Argentina CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A census is a count and description of the population. Censuses have been taken by various levels of government in Argentina and by some ecclesiastical officials. Census records were taken primarily for population studies, taxation, military purposes, or taxing in behalf of the parish poor. Censuses, known as censos or padrones, have been taken by colonial and national governments throughout Latin American. Most of the census records are housed in the national archives.
Records created during the Spanish administration of colonial Latin America, would be located in the Archivo General de Indias in Seville, Spain.
The Catholic church also took occasional censuses of parishioners. An ecclesiastical census was also known as a censo or padrón in Latin America. The following is an example of a church census:
- Padrones, 1779–1796 (Censuses, 1779–1796). Córdoba: Archivo Historica de la Provincia, 19–. (Family History Library film 1162415–1162416.) Census records for the diocese of Córdoba for 1779 and 1795–6.
Census records have not been used a lot in Argentinian research because better sources, such as church records and civil registration, are available in Argentina. The original census returns were often destroyed and only the compiled statistical information remains. Records of some towns, provinces, and regions still exist at the archives but are not available to researchers at this present time.
When available, census records can provide family relationships, age, year of birth, description of property, place of birth. Census records are especially valuable because they list a large portion of the population, and they are readily available at some repositories. They can provide information where all or portions of other records are missing.
Use the information with caution, however, since the information may have been given to a census taker by any member of the family or a neighbor.
Some information may have been incorrect or deliberately falsified.
Following are good references for censuses at the National Archives
- 1869 - Argentina, National Census, 1869 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Inventario : primer y segundo censo nacional, años 1869-1895 y censo de la ciudad de Buenos Aires, año 1855 (Inventory: First and Second national census of 1869 – 1895 and census of the City of Buenos Aires, year 1855). Buenos Aires: Archivo General de la Nación, 1989. (Family History Library film 1614821 item 12.)
- Frías, Susana R. and Liliana R. Méndez. Censos y padrones existentes en el Archivo General de la Nación, 1776-1852 (Censuses Existing in the National Archives of the Nation, 1776–1852). Buenos Aires: Centro para Investigaciones Históricas en la Argentina, 1974. (Family History Library film 1614821 item 13). A guide to censuses available at the Argentine National Archives for the years 1776-1852.
- Vergelli, Emilio. Census Records – Padron. Buenos Aires: Archivio General De La Nacion, 19–. (Family History Library book 982 A1 #4; film 0897023 item 5.)
The above book is a study of the census records that are found in the National Archive in Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Sometimes there are censuses of specific groups such as the Irish in Argentina. The following reference is for the 1855 and 1869 census:
- Coghlan, Eduardo Antonio. El Aporte de los Irlandeses a la Formación de la Nación Argentina (Contributions of the Irish in forming the nation of Argentina). Buenos Aires: Imprenta El Vuelo de Fénix, 1982. (Family History Library book 982 W2c.)
Understanding the Census
The first national census in Argentina was taken in the year 1869. The next censuses were taken in 1895 and 1914. The 1869 and 1895 censuses are available for public inspection at the National Archives and have also been microfilmed by the Family History Library. Census records of the 1914 census are available only at the Argentinian National Archives.
You will find the following types of information in the censuses:
- 1869 census lists for each person in the country by household the address, names and surnames, sex, age, civil status, nationality, place of birth, number of person in the family, legitimacy or illegitimacy of children, occupation or profession, literacy, and whether student.
- 1895 census list names, surnames, sex, ages, nationality, if he is Argentine it gives the province or territory of birth, profession, occupation or trade, literacy, highest grade in school obtained, whether property owner, how many children the women have born, number of years married, civil status, whether if orphaned for each person in the country by household This is the first national census that includes Chaco, Formosa, Misiones, La Pampa, Río Negro, Neuguén, Chubut, Santa Cruz and Tierra de Fuego. The 1895 census has been indexed and is online.
After the 1895 census, the 1914 census and those following have about the same information with a few minor changes. The 1869 and 1895 census do not list the Indian populace. Some localities are missing from each census either because the census was not taken in that locality or the census records have been lost.
The Family History Library has what is available of the 1869 and 1895 census records. These are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under:
ARGENTINA, (PROVINCE), (PARTIDO) - CENSUS (for the censuses within the city of Buenos Aires)
ARGENTINA, (PROVINCE), (DEPARTAMENTO) - CENSUS (for the censuses in the Provinces)
Other censuses were taken by different levels of government. For example, in the city of Buenos Aires there are many early census records that were taken for different reasons. For example, there was a 1855 census of Buenos Aires and a 1667 –1772 censuses of the Indians of Buenos Aires (taken by the Contaduía General de Retasas).
Be sure that you look for census records under your city or town as well as your province in the catalog for additional census other than the national censuses.
Searching Census Records
When searching census records, it is important to remember the following:
- Accept the ages with caution
- Given names may not always be the same as the name as recorded in vital records
- Information may be incorrect
- Names may be spelled as they sound
- Place-names may be misspelled or spelled phonetically
- If a family is not at suspected address, search surrounding area.
- Parts of the census maybe indecipherable
- When you find your family in one census, search that same location in the earlier and later census records for additional family members
Searching in Buenos Aires Finding your ancestors' family in the 1895 census records of Buenos Aires and learning the street where the family resided will also enable you to search other records, such as church records and civil registration. The Family History Library has two volumes of the Municipal Censuses of Buenos Aires for they year 1887:
- Censo general de población, edificación, comercio e industrias de la ciudad de Buenos Aires, Capital Federal de la Repúblic Argentina: levantado en los dias 17 de agosto, 15 y 30 de setiembre de 1887 (General census of the population, construction, commerce, and Industry of the City of Buenos Aires, Federal Capital of the Republic of Argentina: taken from the 17th day of August, 15 and 30 September 1887). 2 vols. Buenos Aires: Compañía Sud-Americana de Billetes de Banco, 1889. (Family History Library book 982.12/B1 X221; film 0874334.)
The volumes include maps and lists of the "manzanas" (blocks) and "calles"(streets) which can serve as a guide to the census records for 1895.
Other directories that will help in determining the address of your ancestor in Buenos Aires in 1895 are the Guia Kraft directories, housed in the National Library in Buenos Aires. The first Guia Kraft directory is from 1885. Three were published in that year and they continued to be published into the 1900s. They contains the addresses and occupations of the peoples living in the city. These directories will tell where your ancestor was living and then you can find the right film for the census.
If possible, determine your ancestor's address for the time period of the census you are searching.
Sources that give street addresses for large cities in Argentina include:
- City, occupational, or business directories
- Civil certificates of birth, marriages and deaths
- Church records of christenings, burials, marriages
- Probate records (especially if calendared or indexed)
- Taxation records [Rate books]
How to Access the Census
There are multiple ways to access the census. A practical way is to look at the already indexed version on FamilySearch, www.familysearch.org. The following are also possible ways to access the census, but may require a fee:
The Census at the Archivo General de la Nación in Buenos Aires
Call (011-54-11) 4331-5531/33
Fax (011-54-11) 4334-0065
Located at Avenida Leandro N. Alem No. 246, C1003AAP Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina.
Open 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Call for holiday schedules.
The Archivo General de la Nación in Buenos Aires is organized into five departments:
- Biblioteca y Difusión
- Documentos Escritos
- Cine, Audio y Video
- Archivo Intermedio.
The census registers of 1869 and 1895 total 1,386 volumes. These records are divided into provinces, towns, and urban and rural populations. They are located on the fourth floor of the archive’s department, called Fondos Documentales, which is a section of Documentación de Soporte Papel.
Argentina’s Archivo General de la Nación can provide reference assistance to researchers and the general public. The archive’s personnel can assist patrons only in relation to the search of information or materials for their investigation.
Patrons may research the census books in person at the Archivo General de la Nación in Buenos Aires. The records are located in the Fondos Documentales department, which is on the fourth floor. If microfilms are available, the archive will not allow patrons to use the original census books. Patrons will need to leave their personal items in designated areas before entering the reading rooms. They may take with them only white sheets of paper, pencils, an eraser, and a portable PC. Upon entering the Archivo General de la Nación, patrons will need to fill out a registration form and show some identification, such as a passport for foreigners or an LE, LC, CI, or DNI for locals.
The following are available at the Archivo General de la Nación for a fee:
- Microfilms and negatives of originals
- Paper copies of originals
- Copies on videocassette
- Scans of photographs
To obtain any of these services, patrons will need to fill out a request form on site.
The Census at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City
For ordering microfilms at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, patrons should go to the Library Attendant Window on the International Floor. Microfilms may take up to three days to arrive at the library.
For ordering microfilms from the Internet by electronic correspondence, go to www.familysearch.org. Click on Library, in the left column click the link called Contact us or Send us an e-mail. In the Subject field of the form, enter Microfilm Request. In the Questions field write your request, and then send it.
Secciones del Segundo Censo Nacional de 1895 de la Capital Federal: Parroquias de la Epoca (Translation: Sections in the Second National Census of 1895 for the Federal Capital: Parishes of the Epoch This site is very useful in locating the parish where your ancestors lived during the 1895 census in the capital. First note the section where they lived as recorded in the census. Next use this link to find the section. This will give you the names of the neighborhoods and streets that correspond to that section. Next use a map of the city of Buenos Aires to locate the section based on the street names. From there you can search for nearby parish churches. Google Maps is a good place to do this type of search.
Argentina, Buenos Aires 1855 Census: a free internet index and images to the Buenos Aires, Argentina 1855 census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search site. For a description of the collection see Argentina, Buenos Aires 1855 Census article
Argentina 1869 Census: a free internet index and images to the Argentina 1869 Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search site. For a description of the collection see Argentina 1869 Census article.
Argentina 1895 Census: free internet index and images to the Argentina 1895 Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search site. For a description of the collection see Argentina 1895 Census Population
Wiki articles describing these collections are found at:
- Argentina, Buenos Aires 1855 Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Argentina 1869 Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Argentina, 1895 Census Population Schedules (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- This page was last modified on 3 November 2015, at 03:24.
- This page has been accessed 17,646 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News