Ayrshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Spout of Garnock, Scotland, North Ayrshire

Scotland

Scotland-ayrshire.png

Contents

History

Ayrshire, an extensive county on the western coast of Scotland, is bounded on the north by Renfrewshire, on the east by the counties of Lanark and Dumfries, on the south by the stewartry of Kirkcudbright and the county of Wigton, and on the west by the Firth of Clyde and the Irish Channel. It is about sixty miles in length and nearly thirty in extreme breadth. It comprised an area of about 1600 square miles or 1,024,000 acres. It includes forty-six parishes and is divided into the districts of Carrick, Kyle, and Cunninghame. It contains the royal burghs of Ayr (the county town) and Irvine. There are thirteen towns and numerous large and populous villages.

The surface of the county is varied. The district of Cunninghame in the north is comparitively level. In Kyle, which is the central portion, it is hilly and uneven though containing some large tracts of fertile and well cultivated land. The district of Carrick in the south is wild and mountainous. The coast, particularly that of Carrick, is precipitous, rocky and dangerous, and possesses few good harbours. About one-third of the land is arable and in cultivation and the remainder, of which a very large portion is mountain waste, is chiefly meadow and pasture. The county is distinguished for its excellent breed of cattle and its fine produce. The moors abound with game and the rivers with salmon and trout. There is coal, which is abundant and worked, ironstone, lead and cooper ore, etc. There are also quarries for freestone and marble.

The manufactures are of wool, linen, cotton, thread, and muslin. There are tanneries and potteries, iron-foundries and iron-works. There are fisheries and salt-works and works for kelp and soda. The population in 1851 was 164,356.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851. Family History Library book 941 E5L.)

Archives & Libraries

The Ayrshire Archives network consists of three offices:

In addition, the following library holds valuable collections for Ayrshire family history research:

Census

The Scottish government began taking censuses of its population in 1841, and every ten years thereafter. The records must be 100 years old before they are released to the public, so the most recent record available is for the 1911 census.  Read more about Census Records.

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide indexes for Ayr for 1841 and 1881.   Click here for other census placename indexes available at the library.

Directories

Courtesy of the National Library of Scotland, Post Office Directories are avilable online. The directories available for Ayrshire are:

1830-1912: These are available in either PDF format or viewable online.

Maps

Ayrshire
Click on the map of Ayrshire to see a larger version. Click on the map again, then click on the 'Expand' button in the lower right-hand corner of the map.


Click here to see an outline map of the parishes of Ayrshire.










Parishes

Historic Parishes for the County of Ayrshire
Parish No. Parish No.
Ardrossan 576 Kilwinning 599
Auchinleck 577 Kirkmichael 600
Ayr 578 Kirkoswald 601
Ballantrae 579 Largs 602
Barr 580 Loudoun 603
Beith 581 Mauchline 604
Colmonell 582 Maybole 605
Coylton 583 Monkton & Prestwick 606
Craigie 584 Muirkirk 607
Dailly 585 New Cumnock 608
Dalgain -- see Sorn 613 Newton-upon-Ayr -- see St. Quivox 612
Dalmellington 586 Ochiltree 609
Dalry 587 Old Cumnock 610
Dalrymple 588 Prestwick -- see Monkton 606
Dreghorn 589 Riccarton 611
Dundonald 590 St. Quivox & Newton-upon-Ayr 612
Dunlop 591 Sorn (formerly Dalgain) 613
Fenwick 592 Stair 614
Galston 593 Stevenston 615
Girvan 594 Stewarton 616
Irvine 595 Straiton 617
Kilbirnie 596 Symington 618
Kilmarnock 597 Tarbolton 619
Kilmaurs 598 West Kilbride 620

Poor Law

Prior to 1845, the care of the poor was the joint responsibility of the kirk session and the heritors (local landowners).  Beginning in 1845, parochial boards were responsible and they collected funds from property taxes rather than church collections and contributions from heritors.  The New Poor Law system took a while to be fully accepted in all areas of the country, though in some areas civil responsibility was practiced from the 1830's.  (For further information, see the Wiki article on Scotland Poorhouses, Poor Law, Etc.)

Quote from the website of the Ayrshire Archives:

"Parochial Boards and Parochial Councils were responsible for the provision of poor relief, cemetery administration, and civil registration. Parish records were inherited by the County Council and survive for most parishes in Ayrshire.

"The records consist of board minutes, registers of applications for relief, inspectors' letter books and accounts (1845-1929). There are also a number of records relating to Cunninghame Combination Poorhouse (1854-1930), Maybole Combination Poorhouse (1865-1910) and the Kyle Union Poorhouse (1860-1977) and include registers of inmates, minutes, letter books, plans and accounts.

"Many of the records give details of applicants’ health, financial and family difficulties and are a rich source for family and social historians."  The records are closed for 75 years.

  • An online index to the poor law records for northern Ayrshire parishes is available for free on the website of the Vennel Local and Family History Centre in Irvine. You must register to use the index. The centre also holds the original records for north Ayrshire.
  • Poor law records for the parishes of east Ayrshire are held at the Burns Monument Centre at Kilmarnock.
  • Poor law records for the parishes of south Ayrshire are held at the Ayrshire Archives Centre in the town of Auchincruive east of the city of Ayr.

Poorhouses

There were 4 workhouses in this county:

A description with drawings and photos of them today along with databases of those living there from the 1881 Census are provided on the links above located on the site entitled "The Workhouse.org.uk" which is owned and operated by Peter Higginbotham.

Societies

Local family history societies are run by volunteers who meet together periodically. Most maintain an index of members' interests. The following societies have an interest in parts of Ayrshire:



[Return to Scotland county list.]


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 March 2014, at 09:55.
  • This page has been accessed 24,501 times.