Azerbaijan GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Azerbaijan ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Azerbaijan is located in the Caucasus region, situated at the crossroads of Eastern Europe and Western Asia. It is bounded by the Caspian Sea to the east, Russia to the north, Georgia to the northwest, Armenia to the west and Iran to the south. As such, its history coincides with the history of the silk road, and consequently Azerbaijan has been the scene of many wars and disturbances.
Its history goes back many centuries prior to the time of Christ. The Turkic tribes are believed to have arrived as small bands of ghazis whose conquests led to the Turkification of the population as largely native Caucasian and Iranian tribes adopted the Turkic language of the Oghuz.
During the rule of the Medes and Persians,, many Caucasian Albanians adopted Zoroastrianism and later switched to Christianity. However when the Arabian Muslims arrived many converted to that Religion, and most of the country became Muslim with the arrival of the Muslim Turks.
Azerbaijan is a country with numerous languages, all based on ethnology. Spoken languages include: Azeri 90.6%, Dagestani 2.2%, Russian 1.8%, Armenian 1.5%, other 3.9% (1999 census) note: almost all Armenian speaking minorities live in the separatist Nagorno-Karabakh region.
The following links might be found useful:
Help with the Azerbaijan Wiki pages
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:42.
- This page has been accessed 12,248 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News