BarbadosEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

North America Gotoarrow.png Barbados

Guide to Barbados ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Barbados in its region.png

Contents

Getting started with Barbados research

Many people throughout the world have early family connections to the Island of Barbados. Described as England's richest colony in the 1680s, a great deal of trade existed between Barbados (part of the Triangular Trade), the British Isles, Africa, and ports on the mainland in the New England, Chesapeake, and Carolina colonies. Many indentured servants from the British Isles served labor terms in Barbados in the 1600s, and upon receiving their freedom, could find no available land on the small island. Most set sail for Jamaica and the mainland English colonies.

Since the 1960s, Barbados has been an independent island nation in the Lesser Antilles, West Indies, east of the central Windward Islands, northeast of Venezuela between the Caribbean Sea and North Atlantic Ocean.[1] Before that time, it had been part of the British Commonwealth.

Parishes

Christ Church ParishSaint Michael ParishSaint George ParishSaint John ParishSaint Philip ParishSaint Joseph ParishSaint Thomas ParishSaint James ParishSaint Andrew ParishSaint Peter ParishSaint Lucy ParishMapofbarbados.gif

Bridgetown (city) | Christ Church | Saint Andrew | Saint George | Saint James | Saint John | Saint Joseph | Saint Lucy | Saint Michael | Saint Peter | Saint Philip | Saint Thomas

Research Tools

"Colonial Ancestry" in Your Archives (The National Archives wiki) has tips about finding records for Barbados.

Helpful guidebooks about researching Barbados ancestors in records on the island, as well as in English archives, are discussed in Barbados For Further Reading.

Wiki articles describing these collections are found at:
Barbados beach.jpg

Featured Content

Things You Can Do

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:


References

  1. The Fact Book
Caribbean Map.png

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 05:24.
  • This page has been accessed 25,970 times.