Bedfordshire, England GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bedfordshire, England Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.Bedfordshire is a centrally located county of England.
BEDFORDSHIRE, or Beds, an inland county; bounded on the NW by Northampton, on the NE by Huntingdon, on the E by Cambridge, on the SE and the S by Herts, and on the SW and W by Bucks. Its length southward is 35 miles; its greatest breadth, 22½ miles; its circuit, about 145 miles; and its area 295,582 acres . . .
"Bedfordshire contains 122 parishes, parts of 3 other parishes, and 2 extra-parochial tracts...
"The county is governed by a lord-lieutenant, a high sheriff, about 36 deputy-lieutenants, and 160 magistrates. The assizes and quarter sessions are held at Bedford... It was formerly in the diocese of Lincoln, but is now in the diocese of Ely; and it constitutes an archdeaconry, comprising six deaneries... The places of worship within the electoral county in 1851 were 133 of the Church of England, with 42,557 sittings; 19 of Independents, 55 of Baptists, 3 of Quakers, 3 of Moravians, 78 of Wesleyan Methodists, 18 of Primitive Methodists, 1 of Brethren, 11 of isolated congregations, 1 of the Catholic and Apostolic church, 3 of Latter Day Saints, 1 of Roman Catholics, and 1 of Jews...
"Population in 1801 was 63,393: in 1821, 84,052; in 1841, 107,936; in 1861, 135,287..."
(The above extract is taken from: John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). For the full account, go online to Vision of Britain.)
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Bedfordshire.
Jones, Horace E. Some Irish Monumental Inscriptions in England. This article is a selection of Irish Monumental Inscriptions throught various English Counties. 1744-1916. collected by Horace E. Jones. Article found in The Irish Ancestors Vol.1, no. 2 1969, pages 97-103 found at Family History Library 941.5 B2i
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Bedfordshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Bedfordshire and the parishes covered by each. Read more about England Civil Registration.
See a list of the parishes in Bedfordshire with links to articles.
Before 1858, every town and parish in Bedfordshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To read more about probate records and see a list of Bedfordshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Bedfordshire Probate Records.
- Bedfordshire websites
- Bedfordshire Archives and Records Service
- Bedfordshire Family History Society--and others--listed on the Bedfordshire societies GENUKI page
- Bedfordshire Resources and help pages on RootsChat Bedfordshire Resources and help pages. (Free).
To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Bedfordshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Bedfordshire
|Northamptonshire||Northamptonshire, Huntingdonshire|| Huntingdonshire
- This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 20:04.
- This page has been accessed 23,559 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News