Bell County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Bell County

Guide to Bell County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military records, and immigration records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Bell County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Bell County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 28, 1867
County Seat Pineville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Bell County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Bell County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1867 1852 1870 1867 1869
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Bell County Kentucky Courthouse.jpg

Bell County Courthouse
Courthouse Square Floor FL 1
PO Box 156
Pineville, KY 40977
Phone: 606.337.6143[1]

Bell County Kentucky History

Parent County

1867--Bell County was created 28 February 1867 from Harlan and Knox counties.
County seat: Pineville [2]

Boundary changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1918, 1976--Disasters caused the loss of some records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Bell County Kentucky Places / Localities

Populated Places

Arjay Colmar Hutch Ponza
Balkan Cubage Ingram Premier
Beverly Davisburg Ivy Grove Pruden
Binghamtown Davis Station (hist.) Jenson Rella
Black Snake Dorton Branch Kettle Island Stoney Fork
Blackmont East Pineville Laurel Ford Stony Fork Junction
Blanche Edgewood Meldrum Straight Creek
Callaway Ferndale Middlesboro Timsley
Calvin Field Miracle Tuggleville
Capito Fonde Noetown Varilla
Cardinal Fourmile Oaks Wallsend
Cary Frakes Olcott Wasioto
Chenoa Garmeada Pineville Yellow Creek
Clear Creek Springs Harbell

Neighboring Counties

Bell County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kybell.png

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Kentucky African Americans

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Bell County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bell County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Bell County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bell County, Kentucky:

- 1st Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate). Company E.
- Fields' Company, Kentucky Partisan Rangers (Confederate), Company E

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bell County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Bell County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Bell County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.


Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Bell County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Bell County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth
  • 1874 - Bell County Birth Index 1874. Batch C518101 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Bell County Birth Index 1875. Batch C518102 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1875 - Bell County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M518103 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1876-1878 - Bell County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M518104 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Unsorted



Bell County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Bell County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Bell County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bell County, Kentucky page 268, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:21.
  • This page has been accessed 21,552 times.