BeninEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Algeria ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
(Add introductory text and/or an image here)
Getting started with Benin research
Benin, officially the Republic of Benin, is a country in Western Africa, formerly known as Dahomey (until 1975) or Dahomania. It borders Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east and Burkina Faso and Niger to the north. The name Dahomey was changed in 1975 to The People’s Republic of Benin, named after the body of water on which the country lies, the Bight of Benin. This name was picked due to its neutrality, since the current political boundaries of Benin encompass over fifty distinct linguistic groups and nearly as many individual ethnic groups. Read more...
12 departments: Alibori, Atakora, Atlantique, Borgou, Collines, Kouffo, Donga, Littoral, Mono, Oueme, Plateau, Zou
- (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
Family History Centres
- Benin. Bulletin officiel du ministère des colonies 36 Films that have records of the Colonial Government from 1891 to 1939.
- Benin. Journal officiel de la République du Dahomey Benin. Official Journal of the Republic of Dahomey 15 films of that government's records 1960 to 1975.
- Benin, Journal officiel de la République populaire du Bénin Benin, Official Gazette of the Republic of Benin 1976 to 2012
- Registres de l'état civil de Saint-Benin-d'Azy (Nièvre) 1793-1862; tables décennales 1802-1902 Vital records of Saint-Benin-d'Azy (Nièvre) 1793-1862; 1802-1902 decennial tables births, marriages, deaths, ten year indexes.
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
(Your text or images here)
Did you know?
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Benin
- This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 00:02.
- This page has been accessed 4,631 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More