BermudaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Add introductory text and/or an image here)

Contents

Getting started with Bermuda research

An excellent book to get started is:

  • Mercer, Julia E. Bermuda Settlers of the 17th Century; Genealogical Notes from Bermuda. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1982. FHL INTL Book 972.99 D2mj. Includes parish registers, wills, and deeds.[1]

Overseas territory of the United Kingdom. Also called Somers Island. British colony of a group of about 300 islands, of which about 20 are inhabited. About 640 miles east southeast of Cape Hatteras, North Carolina in the western North Atlantic Ocean. See the CIA World Factbook at https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/bd.html


Jurisdictions

9 parishes and 2 municipalities*; Devonshire, Hamilton, Hamilton*, Paget, Pembroke, Saint George*, Saint George's, Sandys, Smith's, Southampton, Warwick

Research Tools

  • (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
  • (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


Featured Content

(Your text or images here)

Did you know?

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

(All text below this is included in a column on the left side of the screen.)

References

  1. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Bermuda Settlers of the 17th Century," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 26, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1982):232. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 26 (1982).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 October 2014, at 21:03.
  • This page has been accessed 7,237 times.