Brazil GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Brazil Gotoarrow.png Genealogy

Brazil 220px-BRA orthographic svg.png
The term genealogy is used in this Wiki article and in the FamilySearch Catalog to describe a variety of records containing family information gathered by individuals, other researchers, societies, or archives. Include pedigree charts, compiled information on families, correspondence, ancestor lists, research files, record abstracts, and collections of original or copied documents. These can be excellent sources of information that can save you valuable time. Because they are compiled from other sources of information, they must be carefully evaluated and verified for accuracy.

Additional sources of genealogy for noble families in Brazil are described in Brazil Nobility.

Contents

Brazil 800px-Rio Corcovado Pain de Sucre.jpg
Major Collections and Databases

The Family History Library has several sources that contain previous research or can lead you to others who are interested in sharing family information. These sources include:

International Genealogical Index.

FamilySearch  This index provides names and vital information for many deceased persons who lived in Brazil. This valuable research tool lists birth, christening, or marriage dates. The index for Brazil includes names extracted from parish registers by volunteers and names submitted by other researchers.

Ancestral File.

This file is part of FamilySearch. It contains family history information linked in family groups and pedigrees that has been contributed since 1979. As of 1996 the file contains the names of millions of persons, including many from Brazilian families. Ancestral File can print pedigree charts, family group records, and individual summary sheets for any person in the file.

Family Group Records Collection.

More than eight million family group record forms have been microfilmed in the Family Group Records Collection. This includes many Brazilian families. There are two major sections: the "Archive Section" and the "Patrons Section." The film numbers for both sections are listed in the "Author/Title" section of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

Family Group Records Collection

Family Histories

Many prominent Brazilian families have produced histories that may include genealogical information, biographies, photographs, and other useful information. These usually include several generations of the family. Three examples of such compiled sources, two from the state of São Paulo and one from Rio de Janeiro, are:

Sant’Ana, João Gabriel. Genealogia Sebastianense (Genealogy of [People from] São Sebastião). São Paulo: s.n., 1976. (FHL book 981.61 D2s) This book includes genealogical data for families of several cities in the state of São Paulo from 1532 to 1975.

Silva Leme, Luíz Gonzaga da. Genealogia Paulistana (Genealogy of [People from] São Paulo). 9 vols. São Paulo: Duprat, 1903–1905. (FHL book 981.61 D2g; films 0823694–0823697)

Rheingantz, Carlos G. Primeiras Famílias do Rio de Janeiro (First Families of Rio de Janeiro). Rio de Janeiro: Livraria Brasiliana Editora, 1965. (FHL book 981.53/R1 D2r)

Another book that has short descriptions of surname origins and genealogy of prominent families in the state of Minas Gerais is:

Rezende, Oswaldo. Genealogia de Tradicionais Famílias de Minas (Genealogy of Traditional Families of Minas). São Paulo: Empresa Gráfica da Revista dos Tribunais, 1969. (FHL book 981.51 D2r)

The Family History Library has some published Brazilian family histories. Copies at the Family History Library are listed in the "Surname Search" section of the FamilySearch Catalog. Not every name found in a family history will be listed in the FamilySearch Catalog; only the major surnames discussed in the family history are included in the catalog.

Unpublished family histories are sometimes held by private individuals in Brazil. These pertain mostly to descendants of prominent families and Brazilian nobility. These individuals may have collected a variety of unpublished records pertaining to their own families. Such materials are generally inaccessible for research unless you can establish contact with the appropriate individuals.

Many Brazilian family histories are indexed in:

Moya, Salvador de. Índices Genealógicos Brasileiros (Indexes of Brazilian Genealogies). 10 vols. São Paulo: Instituto Genealógico Brasileiro. (FHL book 981 D22m; films 0823691, 0823693, 1224508) This book indexes various genealogical Brazilian works.

Anuário Genealógico Latino (Latin Genealogical Yearbook). 10 vols. São Paulo: Instituto Genealógico Brasileiro. (FHL book 981 D2g, films 0547087 item 5, 0823753–0823755, 1224501, 1410967 item 5) This publication is a continuation of the publication cited above.

Anuário Genealógico Brasileiro (Genealogical Brazilian Yearbook). 10 vols. São Paulo: Instituto Genealógico Brasileiro. (FHL book 981 D2a; films 0823687–0823690) This publication is continued by Anuário Genealógico Latino.

Many Brazilian family histories are listed in:

Moya, Salvador de. Catálogo de Autores Genealógicos (Catalog of Genealogical Authors). São Paulo: Departamento de Cultura, 1937. (FHL book 981 A1 no. 15).

If you find your surname in any of the sources described in this section, determine whether the entry actually pertains to your family. All persons with the same surname are not necessarily related. Often you will have to do some original research before you can connect your ancestry to families listed in these sources. See also Brazil Societies.

Albery, Alan. The Unreturning Prodigal: George Venn Wakeford. George Venn Wakeford, born 1799, one of Nathaniel and Jenny Wakeford's six children, whe went to Brazil in 1823. The author found letters written by George in amongst papers relation to Oakley Hall Estate, between Oakley and Dean 6 miles west of Basingstoke. George changed his surname to Wilson, while in Brazil. Article tells of family history of Wakefords and part of George's life. Article dating from 1767-1976.

Computer Networks and Bulletin Boards

Computers with modems can be useful tools for obtaining information from selected archives and libraries. In a way, computer networks themselves serve as a library. Most of the information on the Internet is compiled from secondary sources and will need to be verified, but it may identify useful clues and new sources to search. The Internet, certain computer bulletin boards, and commercial online services help family history researchers:

  • Locate other researchers.
  • Post queries.
  • Send and receive e-mail.
  • Search large databases.
  • Search computer libraries.
  • Join in computer chat and lecture sessions.

You can find computerized research tips and information about ancestors from Brazil in many sources at local, provincial, national, and international levels. The list of sources is growing rapidly. Most information is available at no cost.

Some information and guides are available on the Internet for research in Brazil. Sites that include information about archives and libraries, directories, and other subjects are found in various Wiki articles for Brazil.

General sites that act as an index to many interesting Brazilian genealogical sites on the Internet include:

•Brazil Genealogy Web Project:

•Family History Library:

•Brazilian Genealogical Mailing Lists:

•Genealogy Help list for Brazil:

•Genealogical Queries for Brazil:

Online Resources




 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 September 2014, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 9,100 times.