BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Buckinghamshire

Guide to Buckinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Flag of Buckinghamshire
Location of Buckinghamshire in England
Buckinghamshire is an inland county in the central part of England.

Contents

Featured Content

"BUCKINGHAMSHIRE, or Bucks, an inland county; bounded on the NW and N by Northamptonshire; on the NE by Beds; on the E by Beds and Herts; on the SE by Middlesex; on the S and SW by Berks; and on the W by Oxfordshire...

"The county contains 199 parishes, parts of 6 other parishes, and 4 extra-parochial tracts...

"The county is governed by a lord-lieutenant, a high sheriff, about sixty deputy lieutenants, and about 220 magistrates. The assizes and the quarter sessions are held at Aylesbury... The county is in the diocese of Oxford; and constitutes an archdeaconry... The places of worship, in 1851, within the county proper, were 226 of the Church of England, 56 of Independents, 72 of Baptists, 8 of Quakers, 81 of Wesleyan Methodists, 36 of Primitive Methodists, 3 of Wesleyan Reformers, 1 of Lady Huntingdon's Connection, 1 of Latter Day Saints, with 100 s.; 11 of isolated congregations, and 4 of Roman Catholics. 

"Population in 1801 was 108,132; in 1821, 135,133; in 1841, 156,439; in 1861, 167,993..."

SOURCE: The above extract is taken from:  John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).  For the full account, go online to Vision of Britain.

Jurisdictions

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Buckinghamshire.

Civil Districts

When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Buckinghamshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes.  The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place.  Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Buckinghamshire and the parishes covered by each.  Read more about England Civil Registration.

Parishes

See a list of the parishes in Buckinghamshire with links to articles.

Probate Jurisdictions

Before 1858, every town and parish in Buckinghamshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts.  To read more about probate records and see a list of Buckinghamshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records.

Research Tools

Websites

Centre for Buckinghamshire Studies

Buckinghamshire Record Society

Buckinghamshire Archaeological Society

Database of names in Buckinghamshire  Trade Directories 1792, 1798, 1811, 1824 and 1832

Database of Victorian Prisoners in Aylesbury Gaol in the 1870s

To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Buckinghamshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.

Getting Help with your Genealogy

Professional Genealogists who specialize in Southeast England Research helps you compare the expertise, credentials, and rates of professional researchers who can help you access these records.
{{Geographic Location |title = Neighbouring counties |Centre = Buckinghamshire |North = Northamptonshire |Northeast = Bedfordshire |East = Bedfordshire
Hertfordshire |Southeast = Middlesex |South = Berkshire |Southwest = Oxfordshire |West = Oxfordshire |Northwest = Northamptonshire

Links to Articles, Subcategories and Images under the Category: Buckinghamshire


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 November 2014, at 15:01.
  • This page has been accessed 10,742 times.