CanadaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

North America Gotoarrow.png Canada

Guide to Canada ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Canada flag.png
News and Events
Topics



Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Canada courses.


Find us on
Facebook

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community
Welcome to the Canada page.
Canada Niagara.JPG

Getting started with Canadian research

We wish you success in the research of your Canadian ancestors. Good hunting!!

Provinces and Territories

British ColumbiaAlbertaSaskatchewanManitobaOntarioYukonNorthwest TerritoriesNunavutQuebecNew BrunswickNova ScotiaPrince Edward IslandNewfoundland and LabradorCanada Map.png


Research Strategies

See the following articles:

Research Tools

Wiki articles describing these collections are found at:

Did you know?

  • The British Commonwealth of Nations is a voluntary association of Great Britain and its dependencies, certain former British dependencies that are now sovereign states and their dependencies, and the associated states (states with full internal government but whose external relations are governed by Britain). See http://www.infoplease.com/ce6/history/A0813057.html
  • Digital images of the Census of Canada are available at Library and Archives Canada.
  • Every five years, the nation sets aside one day to conduct the census—a count of all people and households in Canada. The census is the most complete source of information about the population that we have.
  • Volunteers are available to assist with lookups all across Canada. You can ask a question on Facebook on the FamilySearch Canada Genealogy Research page or you can search or browse by province at the Genealogy Helplist Canada

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Canada


Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:

 

 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 December 2014, at 03:06.
  • This page has been accessed 127,602 times.