Chile GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
South America Chile
Guide to Chile ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Chile, an Overview
Chile is a country located on the southwestern part of South America. Its official name is the Republic of Chile and its capital is the city of Santiago de Chile.
Chile comprises a long narrow strip of land known as continental Chile, between the Pacific Ocean and the Andes Mountains , which extends from 17 º 29'57 S and 56 º 32'S latitude (Islas Diego Ramírez ), bordered on the north by Peru, on the east by Bolivia and Argentina, and on the south by the Drake Passage. Also, Chile oversees island territories in the Pacific Ocean, such as the Juan Fernández Archipelago, Sala y Gómez, Desventuradas Islands, and Easter Island (located in Polynesia), totaling an area of 755,838.7 km².
Though Chile claims over one million square kilometers of Antarctica—called the Chilean Antarctic Territory and between the meridians 90 º and 53 º West, which prolongs Chile's claimed southern boundary to the South Pole—this claim is not recognized in accordance with the provisions of the Antarctic Treaty, which without Chile's signature constitutes a waiver by Chile. Due to its presence in South America, Oceania and Antarctica, Chile defines itself as a tri-continental country.
There are approximately 17 million inhabitants of Chile, and the per capita GDP and level of economic growth and quality of life are among the highest in Latin America.
Si usted entiende español
Le invitamos a buscar información en español en la página de Chile en el wiki de FamilySearch español. También le invitamos a compartir información útil allí. Véase el enlace en la parte inferior de la página.
- (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
- See FamilySearch Tutorials on Latin American Research.
- Pacific Island Guide to Family History Research (Wiki article for Easter Island)
- Research Guide: BYU Research Outline for Chile
- Listing of all records collections for Chile available on FamilySearch.org
A wiki article describing this collection is found at:
- Chile Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Chile Civil Registration (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Chile Deaths (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Chile Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Chile, Cemetery Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
See FamilySearch Tutorials on Latin America Research
Did you know?
Chile is politically divided into 15 regions, which are both named and numbered (designated by a Roman Numeral). Additionally each region is divided into several provinces. Understanding political divisions is essential to doing family history, because these divisions determine where records are recorded and archived. To learn more about Chile's political division. Click here.
Help with the Chile Wiki pages
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:
- Create region articles
- Check links on pages
- Create pages for Red Links under the Topics list on the left of this page
- This page was last modified on 10 November 2015, at 23:47.
- This page has been accessed 96,139 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News