Clark County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Clark County

Guide to Clark County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Clark County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Clark County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 6, 1792
County Seat Winchester
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today

Contents

Clark County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Clark County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1793 1852 1810 1793 1793
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Clark County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Clark County Courthouse
34 S Main Street Rm 103
Winchester, KY 40391-2600
Phone: 859.745.0282[1]

Clark County Kentucky History

Parent County

1792--Clark County was created 6 December 1792 from Bourbon and Fayette Counties.
County seat: Winchester [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Clark County Kentucky Places / Localities

Populated Places

Agawam Ford Meadowbrook Schollsville
Becknerville Forest Grove Mina Sewell Shop
Bel Air Goffs Corner Mount Zion Stoner Creek Settlement (hist.)
Bloomingdale Hampton Manor Old Pine Grove Tebbs
Bon Haven Hedges Pilot View Trapp
Boonesboro Hootentown Pinchem Vianna
Charleston (hist.) Hunt Pine Grove Wesleyan Park
Colby Kiddville Rabbit Town Winchester
Colby Hills Lisletown Renick Wyandotte
Dunaway Station (hist.) Locust Grove Rightangle
Elkin Log Lick Rockwell Village (hist.)
Flanagan Lyndale Ruckersville

Neighboring Counties

Clark County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kyclark.png

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Kentucky African Americans

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 7,653
1810 11,519 50.5%
1820 11,449 −0.6%
1830 13,051 14.0%
1840 10,802 −17.2%
1850 12,683 17.4%
1860 11,484 −9.5%
1870 10,882 −5.2%
1880 12,115 11.3%
1890 15,434 27.4%
1900 16,694 8.2%
1910 17,987 7.7%
1920 17,901 −0.5%
1930 17,640 −1.5%
1940 17,988 2.0%
1950 18,898 5.1%
1960 21,075 11.5%
1970 24,090 14.3%
1980 28,322 17.6%
1990 29,496 4.1%
2000 33,144 12.4%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

For tips on accessing Clark County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

*USGenWeb Census Project ~ Kentucky Census Transcriptions 1850 - 1930
The USGenWeb Census Images ~ The USGenWeb Census Images Project
*Kentucky Census Transcriptions ~ The USGenWeb Census Project
*Census Online ~ Census Online

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
Kentucky Horse Park
  • [Hall] Hayden, Richard A. "Early Hall Family Pioneers of Frederick County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 37, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1993):163-174. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 37 (1993).
  • [Hickman] Jones, L.H. Captain Roger Jones of London and Virginia, Some of His Antecedents and Descendants: With Appreciative Notice of Other Families, viz.: Bathurst, Belford, Browning, Carter, Catesby, Cocke, Graham, Fauntleroy, Hickman, Hoskins, Latane, Lewis, Meriwether, Skelton, Walker, Waring, Woodford, and Others. Albany, N.Y.: Joel Munsell's Sons, Publishers, 1891. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archives. 1911 edition: FHL Film 1321070 Item 1; 1985 reprint: FHL Book 929.273 J71jL 1985.
  • [Hickman] Buford, Marcus Bainbridge. A Genealogy of the Buford Family in America, With Records of a Number of Allied Families. San Francisco, Calif., 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Hickman] Fay, Mary Smith. "The Three James Hickmans: Identifying Revolutionary War Veterans," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 41, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1997):52-54. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Jones] Jones, L.H. Captain Roger Jones of London and Virginia, Some of His Antecedents and Descendants: With Appreciative Notice of Other Families, viz.: Bathurst, Belford, Browning, Carter, Catesby, Cocke, Graham, Fauntleroy, Hickman, Hoskins, Latane, Lewis, Meriwether, Skelton, Walker, Waring, Woodford, and Others. Albany, N.Y.: Joel Munsell's Sons, Publishers, 1891. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archives. 1911 edition: FHL Film 1321070 Item 1; 1985 reprint: FHL Book 929.273 J71jL 1985.
  • [Lampton] Keith, Clayton. Sketch of the Lampton Family in America, 1740-1914. Louisiana, Mo.: C. Keith, 1914. FHL US/CAN Film 1321273 Item 10; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Price] American Ancestry: Giving the Name and Descent, in the Male Line, of Americans Whose Ancestors Settled in the United States Previous to the Declaration of Independence, A.D. 1776. Albany, N.Y.: Joel Munsell's Sons, Publishers, 1898. Vol. 9:128-129. Digital version at Google Books - free.
  • [Price] Price, Benjamin Luther. John Price the Emigrant, Jamestown Colony 1620, With Some of His Descendants. Alexandria, La.: B.J. Price, 1910; digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Quisenberry] Quisenberry, Anderson Chenault. Memorials of the Quisenberry Family in Germany, England and America. Washington, D.C.: Gilson Bros., Printers, 1900. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Stafford] Stafford, Carolyn Joy. The Biography of Thomas Moore Stafford, 1841-1910 of City of Louisville, Clark, and Nicholas Counties, Kentucky and Citrus and Lee Counties, Florida: Saddler, Soldier, Settler. Brandon, Fla.: C.J. Stafford, 2007. FHL Book 921.73 St13s; digital version at Family History Archives.
  • [Watts] Heinemann, Charles Brunk. John Watts Family of Clark County, Kentucky: (Watts Family No. 2). 1934?. FHL Book 929.273 W349he.

Land

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clark County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Clark County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clark County, Kentucky:

Confederate
- 2nd Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Woodward's) - CSA - Company A.
- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate) - CSA - Company C.
Union
- 22nd Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Enrolled Militia), Companies A, B, C, F, and G
- 39th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry, Company A, B, C, D, F, G, I, and K
- 45th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry, Company K
- 6th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry, Company E

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clark County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Clark County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Clark County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

  • 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Clark County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[4] digitized by Ancestry ($).

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Clark County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Clark County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth
  • 1852-1861 - Clark County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517231 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1874 - Clark County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517232 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1875-1876 - Clark County Birth Index 1875-1876. Batch C517233 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage
  • 1829-1853 - Clark County Marriage Index 1829-1853. Batch M539821 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1852-1859 - Clark County Marriage Index 1852-1859. Batch M517231 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1875 - Clark County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517234 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1876-1878 - Clark County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517235 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1895 - Clark County Marriage Index 1895. Batch M517231 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Unsorted

Clark County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Clark County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Clark County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clark County, Kentucky page 269, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  4. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 16:45.
  • This page has been accessed 24,579 times.