County GalwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Ireland Gotoarrow.png Counties of Ireland Gotoarrow.png County Galway

County Galway.jpg

County Galway (Irish: Contae na Gaillimhe) is a county in Ireland. It is located the province of Connacht. The administrative headquarters are in the city of Galway.

County Galway is home to the largest Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking region) in Ireland.

Contents

General County Research Information

Further information about County Galway is available at the GenUKI site.

See the "Web Sites" section (bottom of the page).

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

County Galway has some significant resources for obtaining cemetery information.

Here are some compiled cemetery links for Galway ancestry:

  1. Interment.net- a gateway web site with some links to Galway places
  2. Visit John Grenham's excellent web site
  3. FamilySearch.org - index to Ireland death registrations (from 1864 to 1958); has many Irish deaths of those born long before the commencement of Civil Registration in 1864. Click "All Records Collections" and scroll to "Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958
  4. Here are some transcriptions for Shanaglish Townland in Beagh Parish churchyard.
  5. Findagrave has some Bohermore Parish entries online
  6. Forthill Cemetery has some online entries available.
  7. Renvyle Cemetery has a small number of accessible entries available online.
  8. Toorena Cemetery has a few entries perhaps of interest, online

Census

Census records for County Mayo were mostly destroyed prior to 1900. The following web site provides researchers with free online access to an index, and with images, to the only two complete censuses available for Ireland: the 1901 and 1911 censuses, available at the National Archives of Ireland web site at no cost and with scanned images as well.

The Roman Catholic parishioners of Kinvarra, Duras, and Killina for the year 1834 are listed with data available online. 

Church Records

Church of Ireland

The Representative Church Body Library has just about all surviving Church of Ireland registers. Some transcript copies are available at:

  • rootsireland - online transcriptions may be forthcoming
  • the local parish  (contact for details in availability)
  • Family History Library (FamilySearch.org) - see the Catalog for Galway county/parish records availability

Contributed by Rev. Iain Knox. The Rev. Edward Bacon's Register. List of baptisms, giving child's name, parents names, date of baptism and address. covers years 1766-1800, Co. Tipperary, Clonmel, Killenaule, Inishlounaght, and Co. Galway, Eyrecourt. Article in The Irish Ancestor, vol. XVII, no. 1. 1985, pages 35-48, and 96-115. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i

Presbyterian

The vast majority of Presbyterian chapel registers have never been centrally archived, and thus are found in various locations. [Regretably, preservation of these precious records and the rich Presbyterian heritage of local Presbyterians as well as descendants of same at large with roots originating from Ireland, are at risk unless and until such time when all of these registers are centralized or, at least copied into microform or, better--digitised and preserved.]

You must conduct exhaustive, thorough studies to determine to which Presbyterian denomination your ancestor belonged; and to then, determine the whereabouts of surviving registers--if any. The following most likely places to find and search Presbyterian registers starts with checking the following locations:

Other:

  1. The excellent rootsireland web site for County Galway currently has one Presbyterian chapel register with data now available online from 1833.
  2. The FHL (Family History Library) has very few transcription copies of Presbyterian chapels

Methodist

The rootsireland web site for County Galway has some Methodist data now available on-line for about 4 different chapels in the county from as early as 1836.

Roman Catholic

The Catholic parish of Ballymacward and Gurteen is also known as Ballymacward and Clonkeenkerril. It includes the civil parishes of Ballymacward and Clonkeen. There are Catholic chapels in both civil parishes, united under one administrator.

The FHL (Family History Library) has copies of some of the original Roman Catholic parish registers of County Galway parishes in its collection. You can identify these listed online at FamilySearch.org. If you know the name of the civil parish in which your Catholic ancestor resided, or was from, click "Catalog" and type in the name of the parish and then highlight/click on "Church Records".

The National Library, Kildare Street, Dublin, is the custodian of all available Roman Catholic parish registers from throughout the country--including County Galway.

The Rootsireland web site has data from numerous Roman Catholic parishes now on-line for searching. There are fees attached (about $4.50 for each entry).

Useful Church Records Web Sites

  1. Galway East Heritage Centre - online
  2. Galway West Heritage Centre - online
  3. GenWeb Ireland - has numerous online links to data-rich lists of Galway County families
  4. John Grenham's web site has several helpful links for Galway names
  5. Galway County Surname Query board is here
  6. CMCRP Project (Galway) - has a few records for the county
  7. Civil Registration of births marriages and deaths for County Galway, online search in the Protesant marriages from 1845 to 1864

Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information

Civil Registration of Births, Marriages & Deaths

Government-sponsored registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1845 (Protestant marriages only) and 1864 (whole population). To find information on the vital events of your irish ancestor, here are some helpful websites for obtaining critical information:

1.FamilySearch.org - has online indexes for births, marriages and deaths; click "All Records Collections", then scroll down to and click "Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845 to 1959".

2. To obtain certificates of birth, marriage or death for your ancestor[s], write to or contact the following record office; the cost is €10 (about $13) per certificate:

   General Register Office, Government Offices,
   Convent Road Roscommon.
   Tel: +353 (0) 90 6632900
   LoCall: 1890 252076
   Fax: +353 (0) 90 6632999
   Fax: +353 (0) 90 6632988

There are fees for performing particular searches; see their website for further information.

3. Here's Jane Lyons' web site with some Civil Registration Indexes to births, marriages and deaths for Ireland:  http://www.from-ireland.net/county/galway

Estate Records

Estate records may provide names of households in such records as leases, rents, and mortgages. These ought to be consulted and used when extant, especially when church registers do not exist for the time period being researched. Here are some web sites which hold estate records and some transcriptions of same:

Genealogy

Occupations

  Game Licences for Co. Offaly and Co. Galway in 1821.  List of Game Licences for each of Co. offaly and Co. Galway published in the Limerick Chronicle.  Gives name and residence of each person.  Article in The Irish Ancestor, vol. XVII, no.1. 1985 pages 23-25, Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i

Place-Names

Here are two important place-name aids/tools for locating your Irish place and its parish jurisdiction[s]:

  1. List of All Townlands, Towns and Townships in County Galway. - click county "Galway"; then click "Submit" to view a complete alphabetical listing of all townlands, towns and townships and the parishes in which they lay
  2. Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel A. Lewis; at LibraryIreland.com - provides a rich 1837 historical perspective of each Ireland parish and large township; great for determining which churches existed in each parish--Church of Ireland or Nonconformist

Probates

Societies

Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and a host of helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish researchers' queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.

Here are two major family history societies covering just about all places in County Galway:

  1. East Galway Family History Society Co., Ltd.
    Woodford, Loughrea, Co. Galway
    Tel: +353-509-49309
    Fax: +353-509-49546
    E-mail: eastgalwayfhs@tinet.ie
  2. West Galway Family History Society
    Research Unit, Venture Centre, Liosbaun Estate,
    Tuam Road, Galway City
    Tel: +353-91-756737/Skype: +353-91-756737
    E-mail: galwayroots@eircom.net

Web Sites

Here are some gateway websites with some excellent Galway County family data and resources for researchers:

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category County Galway

Help Wanted

Wiki Volunteers Wanted
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki see Help wanted on the County Galway pages

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:55.
  • This page has been accessed 36,220 times.