Denmark CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A census is a count and description of the population. Censuses have been taken by the Danish government primarily for population studies and taxation purposes.
|You Can Use this Record to Find...|
Census records can provide personal information about family relationships, age, year of birth, description of property, religion, birthplace, and so forth. Census records are especially valuable because they list a large portion of the population. They can provide information where all or portions of other records are missing. Generally, you will find more complete family information in more recent censuses. Use the information with caution since some information may be incorrect.
The first census in Denmark with genealogical information was taken during the summer of 1787. Unfortunately, this meant that most seamen and seasonal workers were away. The next census was taken in 1801, and then again in 1834. Beginning in 1840, a census was taken every five years until 1860. After 1860, the census was taken every ten years until the end of the century. Beginning in 1901, censuses were again taken every five years.
The Danish government has been working to index the Danish Census records. Accordingly, the Danish Census records have been digitized and made available online at http://www.sa.dk/ao/SoegeSider/Folketaelling.aspx. These images can be viewed page by page. An effort is being made to index all of these digitized census records. Although indexing has not been completed, many Danish censuses have been indexed. This index is available at http://www.ddd.dda.dk/ddd_en.htm. See "Online Census Strategy" below for more tips on how to use these websites.
The most recent Danish census at the Family History Library is for 1911. Census records less than sixty-five years old are confidential and may not be searched by individuals. The most recent census which has been released is the 1916 census. It can be found online at http://www.arkivalieronline.dk/English/default.aspx. The government will make limited searches in the 1920 and 1925 censuses.
Census taking was also conducted in the other provinces and territories under Danish rule: Greenland, the Faroe Islands, the West Indies, Trankebar, India in 1835, and Frederiksnagor (now Serampore), India in 1840.
You will find the following types of information in census records:
1787, 1801, 1834, and 1840. These censuses give the names of all members of the household, their ages, sexes, occupations, relationships to the head of the household and marital statuses.
1845 and later. These censuses list the names, ages, occupations, relationships to the head of the household, religious affiliations, and birthplaces (county and parish) of all members of the household.
Searching Census Records. When searching census records, it is important to remember the following:
- Accept the ages with caution.
- Women are usually listed by their maiden surnames.
- Given names may not always be spelled exactly the same or be as complete as those recorded in vital records.
- Information may be incorrect.
- Spelling for names and places varies.
Search the surrounding area if you do not find a family at the expected address.
When you find your family in one census, be sure to search that same location in the earlier and later census records for additional family members.
Searching in Big Cities
Finding your ancestors' family in the census records of a large city can be time consuming. It is helpful to know the street address. Beginning in 1870, the census is arranged alphabetically by street for the large cities in Denmark. Sometimes you can find the street address in the church records at the time of a birth, marriage, or death in the family. Other sources for street address are business directories; civil certificates of birth, marriage, or death; probate records; or court records.
To find census records in the FamilySearch Catalog, look in the Place search under—
DENMARK, [COUNTY] - CENSUS RECORDS
You will find the parishes listed in the order they appear on the microfilm.
Through the years, there have been a few special censuses taken at the kommune level in certain areas throughout Denmark. These kommunal censuses were taken whenever they were needed, usually in the bigger cities. They had the same information as the national census plus extra information (example: ). It is always good to check if there is a kommunal census for the area you are researching, as they can help fill in gaps that national censuses miss.The following are some of the communal censuses available (italicized if available at the Family History Library):
|| 1727, 1811, 1847|
| Store Hedinge
|| 1818, 1875-1899|
| Nørre Sundby
|| Every year, 1885-1952|
DANISH CENSUS HEADINGS WITH ENGLISH TRANSLATIONS
Danish censuses have standardized column headings, which allowed the census taker to record the requested information in the correct place. Click on the following links to bring up the census headings. The Danish wording AND the English translations will appear. By knowing what is asked for in the various census years, you will be able to better plan your research strategy.
Online Census Extractions
Web pages containing extracted Census records by Aurelia Clemons.
http://www.danishfamilysearch.com/ Danish Family Search - available in English and (mostly) indexed as family groups. Also includes parish church books.
Online Census Strategy
Danish Demographic Database
Search the Statens Arkivers Arkivalieronline at http://www.sa.dk/ao/SoegeSider/Folketaelling.aspx for census images.
Skaaning, Jytte and Bente Klercke Rasmussen. Find Din Slægt - og Gør den Levende: Håndbog i Slægtshistorie, 2d ed. Syddansk Universitetsforlag, 2006.
- This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 22:03.
- This page has been accessed 23,966 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki