EcuadorEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

South America Gotoarrow.png Ecuador

Ecuador ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.}}

Beginners Corner


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)
Find us on
Facebook

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community


(Add introductory text and/or an image here)
Flag of Ecuador.svg.png

Getting started with Ecuador research

See the tutorials in FamilySearch.org pertaining to Latin American research.

Si usted entiende español

Le invitamos a buscar información en español en la página de Ecuador en el wiki de FamilySearch español. También le invitamos a compartir información útil allí. Véase el enlace en la parte inferior de la página.

History

Being a Spanish colony since 1532, Ecuador became independent in 1822 as part of the federation of Gran Colombia. It seceded in 1830.

Territory and Population

Ecuador is bounded on the north by Colombia, on the east and south by Peru, and on the west by the Pacific Ocean. The frontier with Peru has long been a source of dispute. The latest delimitation of it was in the treaty of Rio, 29 January 1942, when, after being invaded by Peru, Ecuador lost over half her Amazonian territories. Ecuador unilaterally denounced this treaty in September 1961. Fighting between Peru and Ecuador began again in January 1981 over this border issue, but a ceasefire was agreed in early February. Following a confrontation of soldiers in August 1991, the foreign ministers of both countries signed a pact creating a security zone, and took their cases to the United Nations in October 1991. Armed clashes with Peruvian forces broke out again in January 1995. On 26 January, further armed clashes broke out with Peruvian forces in the undemarcated mutual border area ('Condor Cortillera). On February 2 talks were held under the auspices of the guarantor nations of the 1942 protocol of Rio de Janeiro (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, and the USA), but fighting continued. A ceasefire was agreed on 17 February which was broken, and again on 28 February. On 25 July 1995, an agreement between Ecuador and Peru established a demilitarized zone along their joint frontier. The frontier was reopened on 4 September 1995. On 23 February 1996 Ecuador and Peru signed 3 further agreements to regulate the dispute. 

No definite figure of the area of the country can yet be given, as this part of the frontier has not been delimited (2, 289 sq. km). One estimate of the area of Ecuador is 275,830.0 sq. km, excluding the litigation zone between Peru and Ecuador, which is 190,807 sq. km, but including the Galapagos Archipelago (8,010 sq. km), situated in the Pacific Ocean about 960 km west of Ecuador and comprising 13 islands and 19 islets. These were discovered in 1535 by Fray Tomas de Berlanga and had a population of 10,207 in 1996. They are a national park, and had about 80,000 visitors in 1995. 

Availability of Record Source by Century

Record Type 15th Century 16th Century 17th Century 18th Century 19th Century 20th Century
Civil Registration
Census
Cemeteries
Registrations
CACICAZGOS
Schools
Taxes
Miscellaneous Church Records
CORTES
Land
Notaries
INQUISICION
Municipalities
Parrishes
Nobility
Immigration
Genealogical Collections

Jurisdictions

(Your text or images here)

Featured Content

(Your text or images here)

 Research Tools

Wiki articles describing these collections are found at:

Did you know?

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

Help with the Ecuador Wiki pages

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:

  • Expand county articles
  • Check links on pages
  • ...and more

Find more opportunities to help with the Ecuador pages.



Other Languages



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 December 2014, at 02:18.
  • This page has been accessed 14,243 times.