EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex

Guide to Essex ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


For other uses, see Essex (disambiguation).
Flag of Essex
Location of Essex in England
Essex is a maritime county located in the East region of England, and one of the home counties.

Contents

Featured Content

Jurisdictions

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Essex.

Civil Districts

When the civil (government) registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Essex was divided into registration districts, each containing several parishes.  To see a list of districts and the parishes they contained, click here.

Read more about England Civil Registration.

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Essex parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

Probate Jurisdictions

To see a list of Essex parishes and the pre-1858 ecclesiastical courts that had probate jurisdiction over them, go to Essex Probate Records.

Research Tools

Search the Essex Place-names site for locations throughout the county.

 Websites

History House - the history of Essex. Dips into the history of its towns, villages, parishes, and its people; includes White's 1848 and 1863 Directories and 1874 Post Office Directory.  www.historyhouse.co.uk

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

England Essex Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops' Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Essex and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Essex

Essex See other websites listed in the various Topics articles.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 November 2014, at 15:19.
  • This page has been accessed 153,197 times.