Georgia (country)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Asia Gotoarrow.png Georgia

Guide to Georgia (country) ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

This article is about the Eurasian country. For the southern U.S. state, see Georgia (state).
News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Freedom square, Tbilisi and the city hall.jpg

Contents

Getting started with Georgia Research

Welcome to the Georgia (country) Page!

FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Georgia Page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Georgian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Georgia Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Research Tools

Featured Content

Mountains of Georgia , Shkhara peak.jpg

Formerly the Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic (SSR) from 1921-1991, and the Democratic Republic of Georgia from 1918-1921. In the Caucasus Mountains bounded on the north by Russia, on the east by Azerbaijan, the south by Azerbaijan, Armenia, and Turkey, and on the west by the Black Sea. To read more about Georgia see The World Factbook and Wikipedia.

Jurisdictions

Georgia is divided into 9 regions,1 city (Tbilisi), and 2 autonomous republics (Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia and Autonomous Republic of Adjara). These in turn are subdivided into 72 districts.

Regions of Georgia:

  • Guria
  • Imereti
  • Kakheti
  • Kvemo Kartli
  • Mtskheta-Mtianeti
  • Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti
  • Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti
  • Samtskhe-Javakheti
  • Shida Kartli

Did you know?

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 14:18.
  • This page has been accessed 5,025 times.